Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Uploaad speeds

    This is a discussion on Uploaad speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My UPload speeds vary from 0.4 to 0.8 kbps. Is this normal, what should my line be like and is ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Uploaad speeds

      My UPload speeds vary from 0.4 to 0.8 kbps.

      Is this normal, what should my line be like and is there anything I can do about it?

      PLugged into a dedicated ADSL CAT5e extension off a filtered master face plate.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 498 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.5 db 32.1 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 11.5 db
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,905
      Thanks
      811
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      Initially it looks like you are on the start up speed, but looking again your upload speed is different to the 605kbps speed that is normally given.

      Are you sure that your upload speeds are quoted as '0.4kbps', rather that '0.4KBps'? There is a significant difference and I would expect the latter to be quoted.

      Your line is quite long and based on those stats I can't see you getting a huge improvement. However i never have liked ADSL Extensions as there have been a few which have caused problems for members on the forum. Could I ask you to try connecting your router to the Master Socket using just the short grey ADSL lead supplied with the router please and post those stats to see if there is any improvement?

      Could you also disconnect any telephones, fax machine, Sky+ STB, etc., from the telephone socket too. On occasions they can cause interference and it would be nice to completely eliminate them from the equation. If you could post the stats without them connected too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      Speeds after a change of RJ 11 cable

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 550 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.5 db 32.3 db
      Noise Margin 6.0 db 11.0 db


      In regard to KB or kb, the above is a direct copy form the NEtgea DGN2200 router.

      A slight difference but no difference from MAster socket or dedicated adsl extension.

      Also all other equipment is on a filtered faceplate and runs from the tele extension side.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,905
      Thanks
      811
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      When you say a "slight" difference between the Master Socket and the ADSL Extension, could you post the stats from both please. It is possible that someone here may spot that little something which you have missed.

      I am not familiar with the speed test on that router. Could I ask you to use the speed tester available on this forum and post the results please? If possible do it with an Ethernet connection to the router too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      When you say a "slight" difference between the Master Socket and the ADSL Extension, could you post the stats from both please. It is possible that someone here may spot that little something which you have missed.

      I am not familiar with the speed test on that router. Could I ask you to use the speed tester available on this forum and post the results please? If possible do it with an

      Ethernet connection to the router too.

      Sorry for getting you confused. There is no difference between extension and master but a slight difference when I changed the lead from router to socket, the RJ11 cable.

      D/L 3.41
      U/L 0.451
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,905
      Thanks
      811
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      It helps to see both the upload & download noise margins, line attenuation and speeds all together. Whilst I am not an expert on all these matters I have learnt to spot the subtle differences and pick up on what could be happening.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      ADSL Link Downstream
      4095 kbps / attn 55.5 db, noise margin, 6.0db

      Upstream Connection Speed
      550 kbps Line Atten, 32.3 db Noise Margin 11.0 db

      Speedtest from skyuser:
      Download speed -3.41 Mbps
      Upload speed- 0.441 Mbps
      Tested on Ethernet.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      You have quite a good upstream noise margin so if you phone Sky they may be able to raise the speed a bit. But bare in mind, they may reduce your download speed, so get an assurance that this will not happen before they tinker.

      Your upload is better than the many who are on ADSLMax(Connect) and considering your distance from the exchange, it is not too bad.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You have quite a good upstream noise margin so if you phone Sky they may be able to raise the speed a bit. But bare in mind, they may reduce your download speed, so get an assurance that this will not happen before they tinker.

      Your upload is better than the many who are on ADSLMax(Connect) and considering your distance from the exchange, it is not too bad.
      Thanks

      Phone call made:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 704 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.0 db

      Speedtester:
      Upload 0.559
      Download 3.44
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Uploaad speeds

      I don't know what has happened but they have moved you to G.DMT and your attenuation has gone up, where normally it would go down. As long as it does not deteriorate, you should be fine.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION