Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky router now dead

    This is a discussion on Sky router now dead within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently my nan had a power cut and the sky router was working fine up to the point of the ...

    1. #1
      DC_FC79's Avatar
      DC_FC79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky router now dead

      Recently my nan had a power cut and the sky router was working fine up to the point of the power cut but sinc ethe power cut she hasn't been able to get internet access. First question is would a power cut affect the router in anyway ? and what would be her options in getting a new router ? is it easy enough to get a new ADSL router from amazon etc and set that up ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Just a thought but have you tried resetting the router and I have the F@ST2504N router and I had a powercut but didn't do anything to the router
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






    4. The Following User Says Thank You to KJ31 For This Useful Post:

      DC_FC79 (20-05-12)

    5. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      If possible, try a different PSU with the router to see if that is what has died too.

      As for getting 2nd hand Sky Routers off eBay, don't be tempted to spend too much. I saw one in a car boot sale last week for 5, which I think is the normal price on eBay.

      Sky will sell the Sagem 2504N for around 35. Some have found that they also ass P&P on top of this too recently, although originally P&P was included.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      DC_FC79 (20-05-12)

    7. #4
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      try resetting it first there might be a button on the back or a little red dot with a hole use something thin like a needle or something. if it still dont work then there maybe a chance the outage shorted the psu or caused damage on the router itself.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to deadman1984 For This Useful Post:

      DC_FC79 (20-05-12)

    9. #5
      DC_FC79's Avatar
      DC_FC79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Quote Originally Posted by KJ31 View Post
      Just a thought but have you tried resetting the router and I have the F@ST2504N router and I had a powercut but didn't do anything to the router
      Yes the router has been reset/rebooted and nothing

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If possible, try a different PSU with the router to see if that is what has died too.

      As for getting 2nd hand Sky Routers off eBay, don't be tempted to spend too much. I saw one in a car boot sale last week for 5, which I think is the normal price on eBay.

      Sky will sell the Sagem 2504N for around 35. Some have found that they also ass P&P on top of this too recently, although originally P&P was included.
      Not physically tried anything as im not present where the router is, i dont have a different psu to try, when i said about buying a new router i meant a new 1 eg a belkin etc.

    10. #6
      DC_FC79's Avatar
      DC_FC79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      try resetting it first there might be a button on the back or a little red dot with a hole use something thin like a needle or something. if it still dont work then there maybe a chance the outage shorted the psu or caused damage on the router itself.
      I can see if i can pass the message on to try this,

    11. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Quote Originally Posted by DC_FC79 View Post
      Not physically tried anything as im not present where the router is, i dont have a different psu to try, when i said about buying a new router i meant a new 1 eg a belkin etc.
      No problem. Unfortunately I think that you will need a working router in order to get the log in details from her old Sky router. Without these it wouldn't matter which non-Sky router you use as Sky will not normally provide them.

      If you do have them for the failed router, then we can be more helpful.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      DC_FC79 (20-05-12)

    13. #8
      DC_FC79's Avatar
      DC_FC79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      No problem. Unfortunately I think that you will need a working router in order to get the log in details from her old Sky router. Without these it wouldn't matter which non-Sky router you use as Sky will not normally provide them.

      If you do have them for the failed router, then we can be more helpful.
      Yes that was another question re the details so without the details ill have to get a new 1 from sky.
      Last edited by DC_FC79; 20-05-12 at 09:42 PM.

    14. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Check out the section in this forum. There are two generator programs now, I'm not 100% sure about mrmt32's newest tool:

      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      I would 1st see if you can extract them, then borrow a non-sky router to see if you can get it to work on the connection before getting your own non-Sky router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      DC_FC79 (20-05-12)

    16. #10
      DC_FC79's Avatar
      DC_FC79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky router now dead

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Check out the section in this forum. There are two generator programs now, I'm not 100% sure about mrmt32's newest tool:

      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      I would 1st see if you can extract them, then borrow a non-sky router to see if you can get it to work on the connection before getting your own non-Sky router.
      Thanks, ill give it a read

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION