Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    1.1kbps and Customer Services Dirty Tricks

    This is a discussion on 1.1kbps and Customer Services Dirty Tricks within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I am some what upset as you may have guessed!! Ever since i got Sky BB its been ...

    1. #1
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry 1.1kbps and Customer Services Dirty Tricks

      Hi All,

      I am some what upset as you may have guessed!!

      Ever since i got Sky BB its been like a yoyo... 5.5 ->760kbps..

      Apparently BT are looking into it but i rang again today to chase it up after 2 weeks of no news.


      The first guy i spoke to said that BT have done some fixes to my exchange in the last week and i need to turn my router on and off....
      Alarm bells in my head... not going to make a difference as i don't always leave it on etc, so it gets turned off almost everyday.
      Then i was asked to delete the cookies and files from in IE, in the tools menu...

      Then, still at the first level of support, the guys says he is fiddling with my settings at their end and it should help.

      I could here him fidling away and then we did a couple of speed tests.. 230 + 350kbps for the second... so he said look its better but still a little slow...

      I was getting fed up at this stage... i often get 760ish as i am 850m from the exchange.

      Anyway the guy seems to be really quiet so i say 'hello?' and the hold music kicks in... so i think great!
      Then after 20mins+ of the music stopping and starting i hung up.

      My down loads at this point are at 1.1kbps!


      20mins later i rang back and spoke to a lady and tried to explain what happend.. and that its taken over 5mins to down load a 1.5mb file.

      She said sorry we'll have to wait for BT to get back to us on your fault... so i said ok fine BUT..... BUT.... your colluge dissapeared and has be messing with settings and i now get arround 1.1kbps!!

      "Sorry sir we will have to wait for BT"

      Ok but can what the last guy just did be undone please?

      "Sorry, have to wait for BT"

      I can't wait for BT... i can barely use the internet because of what has just been done!

      Que... hold music.... stops...starts...stops...starts etc etc... she then listens to hear if i'm still there and then cuts me off after 10mins on hold!!!!!!!!!!

      I am not a happy chappy! Even the BT speed test... which usualy give a great reading now gives arround the 50kbps.


      This is deffinatly the sucks... big time!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you tried your router in the master socket?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hiya,

      Yeah i made a post a while ago and loads of people offered help like that but in the end it was all the same.

      I used to get a wondering speed from 760kbps and down but most of the time it was ok.

      I've just managed to get through to a really helpful tier 2 guy and he's found a fault on the line and other bits and pieces to pass on to tier3.

      Apparently the first guy i spoke to in Tier1 has no powers to alter settings etc so the Tier 2 guy had no idea what he was going on about!!


      It's a shame that a few bad people can spoil it for the others just trying to do their jobs.

    5. #4
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      SteCole77,just a point I picked up on from reading your post,I'm led to believe by our mate Ray (aka Wheelie) that you're best advised to leave your router on all the time or you can end with maintenance problems in the future.

    6. #5
      kelly's Avatar
      kelly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Are you sure there is nothing else plugged into the phone line laddy?

    7. #6
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So you need to leave the router on 24/7 kind of thing? What sort of problems can it cause i wonder?


      @Kelly... yeah eveything is filtered and done properly.


      I sync to my exchange at a constant 8128kbps so the fault must be after that somewhere... maybe?

      Earlier today i got a blistering 850kbps!!!
      Now i just got 728kbps... to start with it flashed up at 1.3mbps!!!!

      .............
      Anyone else think Newsreaders new pick is a bit more Kiera Knightly now, rather than undead Pirate!
      Just hope shes a girl!
      Last edited by SteCole77; 10-10-06 at 11:24 AM.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Anyone else think Newsreaders new pick is a bit more Kiera Knightly now, rather than undead Pirate!
      Just hope shes a girl!
      Its Jennifer Aniston




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I know i know lol but you used to have a Pirate skull and cross bones right?


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION