Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

    This is a discussion on Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm not sure if this is the right section but here goes! I am looking at replacing my ...

    1. #1
      C4FF's Avatar
      C4FF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      Hi all, I'm not sure if this is the right section but here goes! I am looking at replacing my Sagem F@ST2304 (F@ST 2304n) router provided by sky with a router that has simultaneous dual band capabilities.

      I have already chosen the new router, now I just need to choose the new modem to go with it. I have been doing some research and found these options:

      TP-LINK TD-8616:
      TD-8616 - Welcome to TP-LINK

      Netgear DM111PSP
      DM111PSP

      D-Link DSL-320B:
      DSL-320B: ADSL2 Ethernet Modem - Find an ADSL modem or a wireless router for wireless networking at home from D-Link, from D-Link Home

      Zoom Telephonics 5715:
      Zoom Telephonics - ADSL Bridge Modem

      I hope someone has used an Ethernet modem with Sky before and can help me out, thanks a lot everyone!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      The only modem I have seen to work successfully on Sky is this one - Vigor 120 ADSL Ethernet Modem

      You would have to make sure that it will still work, even if your line is changed to MER. I think this is doubtful. You may be better sticking with the Sky router, using the DMZ.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      I have been provided the Netgear DM111P and have been having constant issues with it dropping the connection. I should raise the issue with Netgear, but have been busy since getting it.

      Currently I have my Sagem 2304n connected, with the Netgear WNDR3800 set up in the manner that Tom is suggesting above.

      See this thread for details on how to set it up: Using the DLink DIR613.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      C4FF's Avatar
      C4FF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      Unfortunately using the method suggested will not perform in my case, I am having nat and dhcp issues using the sky router and my router connected to it in bridge mode. I've spent a long time troubleshooting with sky about the problems I'm having and they said "we don't support nat, we don't support dhcp, if you can connect to a website we cannot help you".

      An Ethernet modem is the only thing I can think of short of leaving sky for another provider which I would rather not do.

      So is the one previously mentioned the only one to be known to work with sky?

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      No problem.

      I honestly fail to understand why Sky's firmware continues to be so locked down.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Which ADSL Ethernet Modem Should I Purchase For Use With Sky?

      HI, the problem is sky now use MER to control who can access the network. Not many modems support this billion does have a adsl router that works with sky

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION