Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Remote We Access help needed please

    This is a discussion on Remote We Access help needed please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Some help before I tear my hair out will be greatly appreciated. I have got a new HP ...

    1. #1
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Remote Web Access help needed please

      Hi all,

      Some help before I tear my hair out will be greatly appreciated.

      I have got a new HP Microserver running WHS 2011 and I have been trying to get the Remote Web Access up and running, everything else is going well.

      The problem is that when running the auto setup within WHS 2011 it says that upnp is not turned on (it is) and that the router is not working. Having read countless threads on sky user and elsewhere I have not made any progress to solve the issue.

      I have port forwarded 80, 443 and 4125 in the router settings for both inbound and outbound plus the same within the WHS 2011 firewall application.

      When I ping the ports using shieldsup 80 is open, 443 and 4125 are stealthed and when using canyouseeme 80 is fine but 443 and 4125 the connection times out.

      When I try to access xxxxxxxx.homeserver.com the connection times out wether I am on my LAN or on a separate Internet connection.

      What is going on?

      I have the sagem 2504 (grey dimpled router) and the server is connected via a wired connection. It has a static ip address assigned via the router settings as well as most of the other it devices in my house.

      Any help will be greatly appreciated.
      Last edited by Termin@l; 07-05-12 at 07:06 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Remote Web Access help needed please

      Have you tried accessing the server from outside you home network?

      In most cases you will be unable to use the WAN IP Address from inside your home network with the Sky router.

      Also it may pay you to forward the ports to the server, if you haven't already done so.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      I have done both those things Scubbie, when accessing from outside the home network it times out. Why are the ports remaining in stealth when I have opened them all and linked them to the ip of the server?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      If you have a firewall enabled in the server, try putting the server address into the DMZ of the router. Even though you have opened them the two firewalls may be conflicting.

      As Scubbie says, you will not be able to connect to the server from within your LAN using its external address as the default Sky routers do not support NAT Loopback.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      So added the server ip to the DMZ and no change.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      Have you rebooted everything and crossed your fingers etc?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      Nope but I'll be giving it a shot tomorrow

    9. #8
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      wait, 80 and 443 have just opened but 4125 is still on stealth.

    10. #9
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      but still cannot connect to server
      Last edited by Termin@l; 07-05-12 at 10:32 PM.

    11. #10
      Termin@l's Avatar
      Termin@l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote We Access help needed please

      I think it may of worked!!!

      Yes it has, thankyou for the help......greatly appreciated
      Last edited by Termin@l; 07-05-12 at 10:50 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION