Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

    This is a discussion on Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Is there any affect on speed if you use a long phone lead between the ADSL filter and ...

    1. #1
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      Hi all,

      Is there any affect on speed if you use a long phone lead between the ADSL filter and the router ? My wife has been told that using a 10m phone cable (between filter and router) will severely restrict connection speeds. Is that right ?

      TIA for any help.

      Regards,

      Adam Brunt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      If it is an ordinary flat telephone cable it will reduce the speed and stability. If it is a properly constructed twisted pair cable, there will be little difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If it is an ordinary flat telephone cable it will reduce the speed and stability. If it is a properly constructed twisted pair cable, there will be little difference.
      Agreed.

      The better way would be a cat5 (minimum) RJ11 to RJ11 cable from a filtered faceplate, although if you've not got a split face master socket just using an adsl filter would suffice.

      I run a 20m cable as above with no noticeable impact.

    5. #4
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??


    6. #5
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      15!?!? I just bought 50m of Cat5e cable for 4.50 delivered on ebay today!

    7. #6
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by andy_mk3 View Post
      15!?!? I just bought 50m of Cat5e cable for 4.50 delivered on ebay today!
      Ignore the price. Is that the right cable ?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      I would say no, that looks like a glorified telephone extension at an inflated price. You want one made up of twisted pair cable, something like this - http://www.cableuniverse.co.uk/high-...10-metres.html

      Or if you prefer a 'name' brand - Belkin 10m RJ11 Male to Male Hi-Speed Internet Modem: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

      Be careful when buying Cat cable, there is a lot of low quality junk around.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Long phone cable between the ADSL filter and the router ??

      Quote Originally Posted by andy_mk3 View Post
      15!?!? I just bought 50m of Cat5e cable for 4.50 delivered on ebay today!
      At that price it is probably Copper Clad Aluminium (CCA). Not sure how well aluminium cable performs for ADSL, you might get away with it (I know it is no good for CCTV installations), but I'd buy copper every time.
      Last edited by fuzzy logic; 03-05-12 at 09:45 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION