Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Is this normal?

    This is a discussion on Is this normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm migrating my broadband from AOL and going for Sky Max. I've installed my router and the 'i' ...

    1. #1
      Rezza's Avatar
      Rezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wokingham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Wokingham
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this normal?

      Hi all,

      I'm migrating my broadband from AOL and going for Sky Max. I've installed my router and the 'i' light on the router is lit up green though showing there is broadband on the line. But i can't connect to Sky, Sky CS say i'm not yet connected (my connection date SHOULD have been 20/09/06 ) and my AOL went off on 26/09/06. I've done the Line Checker, and there is a CEASE logged and complete for my AOL but the Sky PROVIDE is still in progress.

      Is it normal for my 'i' light to be lit up in this circumstance?

      Cheers!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Tim's Avatar
      Tim
      Tim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hunslet
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Leeds (South)
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My situation is exactly the same. Green 'i' light but according to Sky I'm not connected yet. BT's order checker has said status unknown since the 12th of September.

      When I last called TS they said

      It's probably your router connecting to a neighbours wireless network.

      You're on Max so you will be on adsl not llu.

      Every case is different so just because someone else with a green 'i' got connected it doesn't mean you can.

      We can't test whether you've actually been connected because we need an account reference no. to do that and you only get the that when you have been provisioned.

      Provisioning say you have to wait another 7 working days.

      Wonder how many of the above are correct?

      Welcome to the club.

      Tim

    4. #3
      Gravydownshirt's Avatar
      Gravydownshirt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Its absolutely normal

      In my case anyhow.
      Iwas given a connection date of 7th Sept then after numerous 0870 calls (at huge cost..kept waiting on the line) and loads of hair pulling out I was finally connected 3 weeks later with no broadband at all during this interval.
      Now I am "up and running" I find that I am losing connection quite frequently..( in fact, I was writing this reply when I suddenly cut out) keeps losing connection then gives me a new IP then loses conection again..etc..
      I don't know what to do...I am certainly not going to phone Sky again...they have got enough money out of me...anyhow....good luck in your case.

      PS I tried putting in the Netgear firmware as per instuctions in another post but I was not successful at this.

    5. #4
      Rezza's Avatar
      Rezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wokingham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Wokingham
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cheers guys. Guess it's not just me then!

      As a matter of interest, is there anyone else here on the Wokingham exchange that are having problems?

    6. #5
      versatile's Avatar
      versatile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THWM
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had similar problems with Mid package. BT pulled the plug on my cease day 21/9/06 and left me without BB till a couple of weeks after my provide day (18/9/06). I finally went live on 2/10/06 after a lot of chasing.

      Can you connect to the router status page (192.168.0.1) ? If so does your modem section say connected?

    7. #6
      Tim's Avatar
      Tim
      Tim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hunslet
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Leeds (South)
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My modem says connected, at a very steady 2mb. The Sky test used to succeed although I got CHAP authentication failures logging on, but now gives error 300. I have never actually managed to get on line.

      Tim

    8. #7
      versatile's Avatar
      versatile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THWM
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Tim
      Who was your previous BB provider and what speed were you on?

    9. #8
      Rezza's Avatar
      Rezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wokingham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Wokingham
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I can connect to the router setup page, i had a quick look at it last night and i think it said connected at about 7mb (which is what i used to get on AOL, but i can't double check at the mo as i'm at work). The connection test fails though. I've run into a brick wall with Sky CS, i keep chasing them but just get told that 'BT have a backlog'. I've also tried phoning BT (got told to phone Sky as they can directly talk to the BT Provisioning Department) and various emails to both Sky Customer Services, BT and James Murdoch at Sky.

      No reply from any of them as yet.

      My next plan is to go directly to the telephone exchange!

    10. #9
      Tim's Avatar
      Tim
      Tim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hunslet
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Leeds (South)
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi versatile
      I had a 1mb connection from Pipex. I'm just over 1km from the exchange as the crow flies.

      Tim

    11. #10
      versatile's Avatar
      versatile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THWM
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Rezza

      To ease the pain of waiting make sure you use the 0800 number and try both tech support and order status. Tech support are best called just after 7:00am (only worth talking to a Scottish voice for knowledge). I just called every day.

      BT Wholesale won't talk to you, so you are forced to go through Sky.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION