Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41
    Like Tree1Likes

    New connection

    This is a discussion on New connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I no its early but how long do i expect speeds to go up got connected yesterday its set at ...

    1. #1
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      New connection

      I no its early but how long do i expect speeds to go up got connected yesterday its set at the now


      Modem



      Modem Status

      Connected



      DownStream Connection Speed

      1012 kbps



      UpStream Connection Speed

      606 kbps



      VPI

      0



      VCI

      40


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New connection





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      It looks like you have a very bad or long line. Your stats will be the proof of the pudding.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      ADSL Link

      Downstream

      Upstream



      Connection Speed

      1012 kbps

      606 kbps



      Line Attenuation

      47.5 dB

      26.6 dB



      Noise Margin

      8.8 dB

      16.0 dB

    6. #5
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection

      are you plugged into your master socket? if not try that
      you should be getting 6 - 7 mb
      if you are still getting issue try the test socket

      Master Test Socket

    7. #6
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      It is connected to the master socket my last isp i was on the adslmax and my router syned at 6mg

    8. #7
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection

      how long have you been connected? (installed date?)

    9. #8
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      Yesterday as i started the thread i now its early but was ecpecting more than this

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by 1067 View Post
      Yesterday as i started the thread i now its early but was ecpecting more than this
      You should get 6meg min I would have thought, but DLM needs to complete.

      If you are in the test socket, then I would leave it and see what happens. Your attenuation is about the same as mine.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      1067 (24-04-12)

    12. #10
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by 1067 View Post
      Yesterday as i started the thread i now its early but was ecpecting more than this
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You should get 6meg min I would have thought, but DLM needs to complete.

      If you are in the test socket, then I would leave it and see what happens. Your attenuation is about the same as mine.

      What NR said Sky won't do anything for u till the DLM is up so u need to wait for the complete

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Laprion For This Useful Post:

      1067 (24-04-12)

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION