Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 41
    Like Tree1Likes

    New connection

    This is a discussion on New connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have you plugged the router into the test socket yet???...

    1. #21
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Have you plugged the router into the test socket yet???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      No its not plugged into the test socket just the master socket on mysky there is a page sky help and support it says
      Help & Support Service Status
      TVNo issues Broadband Issue TalkNo issues Sky Go & WebNo issues
      i take it is because its my test period this is my third day

    4. #23
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: New connection

      I can't see DLM doing much more on that line as there's something not right by the looks of the things.

      We need to see stats from the test socket to go further. To clarify, it's just literally the filter that goes direct into the test socket and the grey dsl cable that Sky provided going to the router from the filter. No extensions, no sky tv splitters or any other equipment connected when taking the stats.

    5. #24
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by 1067 View Post
      No its not plugged into the test socket just the master socket on mysky there is a page sky help and support it says
      Help & Support Service Status
      TVNo issues Broadband Issue TalkNo issues Sky Go & WebNo issues
      i take it is because its my test period this is my third day
      are u using old filters? or new ones that came with the router?

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    6. #25
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      new ones

    7. #26
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Quote Originally Posted by 1067 View Post
      new ones
      try the test socket and try your old filters too it could be faulty filter

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    8. #27
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      On the up


      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 67:52:58



      PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time


      WAN MER 23686 876340 0 27 15 11:43:13
      LAN Up 223241 102894 0 114 77 67:52:58
      WLAN Up 956356 655878 0 7806 782 48:58:36


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 dB 28.0 dB
      Noise Margin 4.6 dB 16.2 dB

      Poll Interval: (secs, at least 3s)
      Last edited by Scubbie; 26-04-12 at 04:51 PM. Reason: Laid out stats so that they are more readable

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Hopefully DLM will find that your line can support a lower Noise Margin.

      P.S. If you click the A/A button to select the WYSIWYG mode before posting the router stats, it will put them in a table automatically. This make it easier for us to read. This feature can be turned on permanently in the Settings page (link at the top of the page). Scroll down and select 'General Settings'.


      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/usercp.php

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      1067 (26-04-12)

    11. #29
      1067's Avatar
      1067 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New connection

      I dont no if this will help things just noticed that my phone package was connected yesterday and in mysky it says that broadband tests started on that day so here's hoping for some reason phone and broadband activated different days

    12. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection

      Still looking pretty bad. Have you tried the Test socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION