Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29
    Like Tree1Likes

    Noise margin dropping

    This is a discussion on Noise margin dropping within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by jorkila These are my current stats after my router resynced while I was out ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream Connection ...

    1. #11
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Quote Originally Posted by jorkila View Post
      These are my current stats after my router resynced while I was out


      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed6688 kbps896 kbps
      Line Attenuation39.0 db23.5 db
      Noise Margin8.8 db13.0 db
      Are you connected to the master socket? Or an extension socket?
      Try the test socket behind the master socket faceplate and check the stats.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Just been on the phone again and turns out i was on gdmt and now set back to adsl2+ but still the same as before, the guy says there is something not right he just can't put his finger on it, he's asked me to try a different router and is calling me back in a few minutes.
      Stats are from the test socket.

    4. #13
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Quick update after lots of testing and tweaking they have found that my broadband cable is touching my phone cable causing static build up and should hopefully be fixed over the weekend!!
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #14
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Another quick update, still not fixed they've had another two engineers at the exchange and still not found the fault themselves. Sky are sticking with it and escalating it higher and hopefully will be sorted soon, really have to say that sky have really been on the ball with keeping me updated after actually admitting that there is a fault somewhere on the line (just outside the exchange apparently) just a shame bt aren't quite so on the ball!!

    6. #15
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      They say a particular line test being performed is only travelling 200m rather than my actual line length of 2000m, anyone else come across this before?

    7. #16
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Yes, it's just part of the diagnostics via a 'Single End Line Test' ('SELT'). Have they referred to a 'bridged tap' at 200m on the line?

    8. #17
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      They originally thought that but now say that two wires are making contact causing static build up?

    9. #18
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      Also it would seem that i'm back on G.dmt, what is the max attainable connection rate on G.dmt?

    10. #19
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      For Sky, the max attainable rate should be 8192 on g.dmt.

      Sounds like they're describing possibly a bridged tap. What are they doing about it now?

    11. #20
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin dropping

      I'm currently using my own netgear router with custom firmware and it only connects on the g.dmt setting but i'm syncing at almost 9mb which is strange lol.
      Basicallybt have left something open so that sky are now unable to reopen the case until its closed if that makes sense and then they're escalating it further within their own team or something

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION