Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

    This is a discussion on Change or access dns settings on latest sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I prefer watching american netflix but can only do this by changing my dnd settings on my laptop. i have ...

    1. #1
      guinness1's Avatar
      guinness1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

      I prefer watching american netflix but can only do this by changing my dnd settings on my laptop.
      i have a philips netflix wireless box that can only get the uk version and as i cant change the dns on my sky router, is it possible to either get a different make and model of router that works with sky broadband or piggyback a different router and use the wifi fir netfix ad it can log into any other router ad well ad sky.
      i need to be able to change the dns on the external router and would it accept the download speed of said sky router even if i turned off the wifi on it.
      hope someone can help as cost is no problem for new router.
      preferably i would prefer to ditch the sky router and use a more powerful one which would enable me to change dns for netflx.
      regards


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

      You can override the DNS settings in your router using software. Have a look here: https://store.opendns.com/setup/computer/

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

      There is a way that the DNS settings can be altered in some cases for the Sagem 2504N:

      How to change default DNS servers on a Sagem F@ST2504n Router

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There is a way that the DNS settings can be altered in some cases for the Sagem 2504N:

      How to change default DNS servers on a Sagem F@ST2504n Router
      Although note that is not for people that connect using MER. I really want to change to OpenDNS

    6. #5
      guinness1's Avatar
      guinness1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Change or access dns settings on latest sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamLC View Post
      Although note that is not for people that connect using MER. I really want to change to OpenDNS
      That is what i meant to say as my router is set for MER also....

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION