Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    MER on Netgear Routers

    This is a discussion on MER on Netgear Routers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This thread has been set up to show the communication between Netgear and their customers re amending the firmware for ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      MER on Netgear Routers

      This thread has been set up to show the communication between Netgear and their customers re amending the firmware for Sky MER connections.

      This thread was originally set up to try and establish a way that the original Sky Router could be linked to a Cable router to allow VPN Gateway to Gateway. This is needed in order that the Netgear READYNAS can back up across a VPN to another READYNAS at a remote location.
      Last edited by newbuilder; 25-04-12 at 06:30 PM.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
      Can only go by my experience.

      When using the sky router I found it simpler and less hassle to disable all but essential functions. DMz to you netgear and also forward all ports to it. Don't know why I had to do this but it solved problems with nat issues.

      You will also need to put the sagem on a different subnet of using the routers wan port for Internet. Eg. Xx.xx.1.1 for sagem xx.xx.0.1 for netgear. For this reason dhcp needs to be disabled on the sagem.

      I've also found that unless you use sky's DNS settings anytime+ occasionally plays up if for example you are using googles DNS address.

      Hope this helps.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to joew For This Useful Post:

      newbuilder (11-04-12)

    5. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      Tried above and failed miserably.

      I just could not get a connection from the netgear to the internet (via the sky sagem router).

      I named the sagem as xxx.xxx.9.1 and the netgear as 192.168.0.3 with dhcp on the netgear.

      I have now configured everything back to the original post but noticed that without an additional RJ45 cable from one of the 4 ports on the sagem tot he netgear the "loop" in not complete and the internet cannot be used. Is there any reason for this?

      Feel way out my depth.

      Sky give us the choice to use our own routers!
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    6. #4
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      Remember to configure your routers wan settings to match the Sagem.

      EG:

      Sagem is xx.xx.9.1

      Router WAN xx.xx.9.2
      Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway xx.xx.9.1

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      The gateway and dns addresses on the dgn2200 and the fvs338 show the sagem address.
      Also check the DMZ and port forwarding are both pointing to the WAN IP address of the netgear, so in the above example xx.xx.9.2 NOT the routers LAN side gateway address.

      I've just looked at pictures of the rear of your Netgear and it doesn't have a dedicated WAN port so I'm not sure if it will work but its worth a try for a sake of a few clicks.

      The ability to use own routers on sky won't be long now. A few of us have got tickets in with Netgear and my own ticket appears to be moving up the chain.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to joew For This Useful Post:

      newbuilder (11-04-12)

    8. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      okay one step further forward.

      The Netgear FVS338 does have a WAN port and I now have the following setup. Only one problem to overcome.

      SAGEM did not like having its address changed so it is on 192.168.0.1
      Netgear FVS338 is on 9.3
      all devices take DHCP from Netgear FVS338.
      Wirelss Netgear DGN220 is hard wired to FVS338 and has a .9.x address.

      All devices and Sky + working smoothly.
      VPN up and running.

      I can ping all addresses on my parent's network - an improvement.

      They can only ping my FVS338, they cannot ping the READYNAS sitting behind the FVs338.

      DMZ on Sagem is pointing to 192.168.0.x (address given to the Netgear WAN side).

      Any ideas for the last hurdle?

      I am away to try and back up to my parents seen as the route is open. Prepare for tears! (EDIT: Won't find connection to remote LAN - sounds like a firewall problem on the FVS338, any ideas?)
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    9. #6
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      They can only ping my FVS338, they cannot ping the READYNAS sitting behind the FVs338.
      It does sound like a Firewall issue. Have you got the necessary ports forwarded from your Netgear to the ReadyNAS? I believe its 21 for FTP and 443 for HTTPS. Not sure if your router supports UDP but I have always added forward rules regardless.

    10. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      I recently posted a question to help me gain access to my own Netgear ReadyNAS. You can personalise the ports, so as not to conflict with other items on your LAN. You could have multiple NAS drives, each with their own port.

      I had correctly forwarded the port to my NAS but was still unable to access it. It turned out to be related to the 'Passive ports'. The default setting is to have them all open, but it appears that this doesn't work. You need to limit the range for the Passive ports. Use a port range high up to cover say 50 ports.

      An example might be to use 50000-50050.

      For ease I also forwarded these ports to my NAS.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #8
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      Thanks Scubbie but it appears to be a bigger issue.

      I have the Sky Route rlinked to the WAN port in the FVS318 from LAN port 1 in the sky router and can surf and access all sites and router configs but I cannot ping out to the VPN and the other side cannot ping in. When I connect an additional lead from the sky to the FVS318 form LAN to LAN I can then ping out to the other side but they cannot ping in. Also all the router pages and Internet slow down. Is this because there is a loopback in effect.

      To say this is driving me nuts is an understatement.

      HAs anyone asked Netgear about looking at the DGN2200 router for Sky access as well?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    12. #9
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      If you haven't already please raise a ticket with Netgear. They are falling behind Billion with MER and the more people that contact them about it the better. Fibre users (like me) can not use PPPoA so we are waiting for them to provide upgraded firmware to work with MER.

      https://my.netgear.com

    13. #10
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: VPN, Sky router and others

      So that I don't jump through all the same hoops as you can you please post the wording you used and I will plug it into my request.

      What option did you choose "WAN Router does not get IP from ISP"?


      Thanks.
      Last edited by newbuilder; 12-04-12 at 12:16 AM.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION