Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky playing up again...again...again...

    This is a discussion on Sky playing up again...again...again... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So I cant believe after maybe 6 months my sky broadband is playing up again, it took about a month ...

    1. #1
      thejosh123's Avatar
      thejosh123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky playing up again...again...again...

      So I cant believe after maybe 6 months my sky broadband is playing up again, it took about a month for them to get it sorted, after going through countless checks over and over and them sending an engineer oh it was the router that was needed!

      it keeps going from local and worldwide to just local then coming back on, it worked spot on for about 6 months very fast. It seemed to happen when the phone was ringing but now it seems to happen spontaneously also, one phone has alot of crackling at times, anybody know whats wrong sorry to complain about sky, but honestly it never seems to run smoothly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky playing up again...again...again...

      So that's the PC dropping connection - does the actual router drop the WAN connection if you check the stats? If not, the issue is your end and not the service
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky playing up again...again...again...

      it keeps going from local and worldwide to just local then coming back on,
      That looks like a problem with your PC. Try updating the adapters drivers.

      one phone has alot of crackling at times,
      If this is only happening on one phone and not others, it is probably the phone that is faulty.

      Post your stats
      How to get your router statistics - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      thejosh123's Avatar
      thejosh123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky playing up again...again...again...

      not so sure about it being my pc, because it happens to both my laptop and desktop and the routers 3rd light goes out for like 5 minutes then comes back on or goes orange for a while after going off and eventually turns back on.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky playing up again...again...again...

      not so sure about it being my pc, because it happens to both my laptop and desktop
      Maybe if you had mentioned that in your first post, we could have told you to call Sky and tell them that you connection is dropping. Probably better to wait till it drops and then call right away. They will then know you are really having a problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION