Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

What to do should broadband drop?

This is a discussion on What to do should broadband drop? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I'm also a newbie to the forum, and my question is 'kind of related' to the subject of ...

victor_check is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028406
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Red face What to do should broadband drop?

Hi All,
      I'm also a newbie to the forum, and my question is 'kind of related' to the subject of this thread. I'm currently waiting for my broadband and phone service to be transfered to Sky. (BB unlimited & anytime calls). But I was wondering is there is a means of using good old dial up as a backup for times when the DSL service is down. Not that I would expect to need it that often, but still we all know that things do break down from time to time, and given my recent experience with my current provider, the DSL service has been down more ofter than up in the past couple of months. And given that most call packages provided by ISP's have very high charges for 0845 & 0844 No's, is there a more affordable alternative. Oh and by the way mobile BB is not an option where I live, we're very lucky to have enough signal to receive / send text messages here!

Thanks in advance.

S.B. (victor_check)

2. Advertisement
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Thanks
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

Re: What to do should broadband drop?

Personally I would look at using 3G (and perhaps 4G when it becomes available) as a backup.