Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 57
    Like Tree1Likes

    Any room for improvement???

    This is a discussion on Any room for improvement??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had recently called Sky to ask if my line can get better speeds as it is slower than I ...

    1. #1
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Any room for improvement???

      I had recently called Sky to ask if my line can get better speeds as it is slower than I would like and takes longer to download large files. I was quoted between 5 - 9 for my line when ordering but was hoping for at least 6mbps as I am on the "up to" 20MB deal.

      Here is my stats from my 2504n

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 1626755 23241708 0 5620 0 1:36:08
      LAN Up 5118440 2735458 0 78 21 503:23:03
      WLAN Up 19491862 15955856 0 0 0 431:10:14

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5024 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 dB 25.9 dB
      Noise Margin 4.8 dB 11.0 dB


      Could you tell me if there is any room for improvement in this speed. Sky support started DLM about two weeks ago but I rand the other day to see if there was any improvement and they said it was still in DLM.

      My Noise margin is usually around 7.6db but today it seems to be hanging around 4 - 4.5db not sure id this is due to DLM or not but id be happy to hear from anyone and hopefully get my speeds up a little.

      P.S I am in the main socket with no extensions in the house at all. Also I changed to a new filter and shorter filter to modem cable 30cm. lol

      Also the up time is slow as I checking connections earlier. Checking speed on speedtest.net gives me 4.3 downstream and 0.59 upload speed.

      I hope to hear back soon and thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      You should be getting more speed than that.

      At the moment you wont be getting any more speed until you improve the connection.

      Are you connected to an extension or by master socket? Try the test socket behind the master sockets faceplate and then post the stats again.

    4. #3
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Hi thanks for your quick reply. I have now removes the BT cover and plugged into the test socket and the router stats are as follows:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 6979 23831167 0 3438 0 0:11:15
      LAN Up 5180283 2768419 0 390 40 522:38:44
      WLAN Up 20108466 16738615 0 0 0 450:25:55
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5020 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 dB 25.9 dB
      Noise Margin 6.9 dB 11.0 dB
      What does this suggest now do you think?

      Thanks for your help

    5. #4
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Here is the result I get on speedtest.net with the ethernet cable from the laptop to the router.

    6. #5
      pengy_666's Avatar
      pengy_666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      there is definatley a improvement with a direct plug into the master socket.

      Having the noise margin around 7-8db is ideal I was informed. You may want to look into that issue as a start.

      I would wait 24 hours with it plugged into master socket direct and see if there is a speed increase, It can take up to 24 hours to identify the line noise is reduced.

      Or ring and moan and see if they have stabilised it at that speed.

      Ring 08442 410096 tier 2 support team, these are the guys that work between NT openreach and sky BB team. These are the actual technical team. Just tell them you have had no joy from the technical bb line and the last guy told you to ring these guys up.

      I fixed my slow speed with these guys and I am now ticking over @ approx 15Mbps.

    7. #6
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Hi thanks for this. That seemed to do the trick. The lovely girl said that I was set at 5MB and she set it straight away to 8 but this is now my stats: What do you think?
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 9104 23906857 0 75743 0 0:11:23
      LAN Up 5243833 2817690 0 10976 59895 527:09:36
      WLAN Up 20139641 16773123 0 0 0 454:56:47
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6214 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 dB 25.7 dB
      Noise Margin 4.6 dB 8.5 dB
      Thanks again for your help

    8. #7
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      And on speedtest.net


    9. #8
      pengy_666's Avatar
      pengy_666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      WOW, slight improvement. are you still plugged into the master socket or have you have put socket back together because your noise margin is different.

      It would either say you have put it back together or you may have corroded points on the line outside from the pole or at the end of the road in the bt box.

      If this was me and you haven't put phone socket back together, I would keep calling teir 2 support number and tell them it keeps dropping and there is noise on the line, Whilst on the phone touch your stubble and it sounds like noise down the phone and then they will get openreach out, if it is a faulty line they will charge sky but if you are sure it isn't your side then I would pursue it.


      If you have put it together, you need to check out whats going on. you could probably need to replace the extensions in the house or the actual master socket itself.

      What does the master socket look like? how many wires come from outside the house from BT?

    10. #9
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Hi thanks for this. Yes I still am in the test socket and did not put it back together. The strange thing is that my speed has dropped again. Here are the stats this morning?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 40437 24762920 0 3 1089 10:14:14
      LAN Up 5988749 3224808 0 1322 147 547:22:58
      WLAN Up 20292189 16938973 0 1089 1089 475:10:09
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5362 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 dB 26.1 dB
      Noise Margin 6.4 dB 8.6 dB
      I do believe everything on my end is good but not sure why the speed has went down today. Could this be DLM? Would you suggest I contact them again about this. Yesterday the tech said that she was able to put it to 8 with no major errors on the line and it was coming in at the 6214 as above. It is so annoying when things like this happen as this speed can't cope with a busy household

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      The only reason you got more speed was because your noise margin was allowed to go well below the default. Too low in your case, as it has dropped further and resynced at a sustainable speed. DLM is now setting some lines with a low noise margin, but only those with a good line which can sustain it. When this is done manually there is a good chance it will fail, as the agent can only see how your line has been performing with the previous noise margin. Because it is producing little or no errors when at the default, does not mean it will have none when the margin is dropped by a few dbs.

      Your line should perform better, 7-8Mb but due to its condition you are not going to get much more than you have. The reason for this could be a fault on the line, low quality wire being used or simply old tired copper which cannot perform any better. Unless Sky can find a fault on your line you have little chance of improvement. If you have a large household and need a lot of bandwidth, maybe you should consider moving to Fibre if it available to you, or dare I say it, Virgin Cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION