Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 57
    Like Tree1Likes

    Any room for improvement???

    This is a discussion on Any room for improvement??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks Scrubbie, Should I wait for DLM to finish or should I do it now do you think....

    1. #31
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Thanks Scrubbie, Should I wait for DLM to finish or should I do it now do you think.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Sorry, I thought that the initial DLM process had completed.

      Once it has, call Sky and get the line adjusted.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Sorry Scrubbie, before I read the post I had contacted and the chap was very helpful this time. He switched to ADSL1 straight away to try it and it was coming in at 6400kbps down. I did notice it dropped out though as the noise margin fell from 7.7db to 2.4 and then it resynced as below:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 13 26002799 0 367 214748364 0:00:07
      LAN Up 6524075 3563503 0 15164 1249 596:59:51
      WLAN Up 21152944 17899637 0 2351 0 524:47:02
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 dB 24.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 12.0 dB
      What do you think of this?

      Thanks again for all your help I appreciate it

    5. #34
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      You're syncing somewhat below what you should be. Could you try the test socket again?

    6. #35
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Hi I am still in the test socket. It was syncing at 6400kbps then it seems to drop out the resynced as above. What are your thoughts?

    7. #36
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      I am syncing at 6336Kbps on a 7.9dB margin so you should be getting close to that.

    8. #37
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Yes the margin is up to 7.8db now but isn't shifting. What would happen if I reset the router or will it sync then at lower speed?

    9. #38
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Reset the router once and post the new stats.

    10. #39
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Here is the new stats after a reboot:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 2367 3661 0 2037 11865 0:05:53
      LAN Up 5608 3796 0 14667 2548 0:06:36
      WLAN Up 0 0 0 10845877 10845877 0:06:18
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5600 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.5 dB 24.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 12.0 dB
      Thanks

    11. #40
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      I have just noticed that the network type in the router is showing as MER. Should this not be g.dmt or ppoa?

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION