Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 57
    Like Tree1Likes

    Any room for improvement???

    This is a discussion on Any room for improvement??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; On ADSL1 you should get about 6Mb I would have thought....

    1. #21
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: DLM Started 2 weeks ago so may still be going! Speed question??

      On ADSL1 you should get about 6Mb I would have thought.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM Started 2 weeks ago so may still be going! Speed question??

      Really? Why can ADSL1 provide faster speeds in my area, please explain. I always thought that ADSL2+ would have been faster? This is interesting. Thanks for this I may call them before moving to fiber just to see what they say about G.DMT

    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: DLM Started 2 weeks ago so may still be going! Speed question??

      ADSL uses a smaller bandwidth than ADSL2+ so will experience less interference issues with a long line.

      There are graphs available on-line to support this, such as the one below:

      Any room for improvement???-adsl2-speed-graph.jpg

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: DLM Started 2 weeks ago so may still be going! Speed question??

      Quote Originally Posted by ryan1988 View Post
      Really? Why can ADSL1 provide faster speeds in my area, please explain. I always thought that ADSL2+ would have been faster? This is interesting. Thanks for this I may call them before moving to fiber just to see what they say about G.DMT
      Because ADSL2+ is more susceptible to noise because it uses higher frequencies. These frequencies do however provide faster speeds. But, as one moves away from the exchange, the noise increases and it has more of an effect on these frequencies on ADSL2+ because they are higher than ADSL1. As a result of the increased frequencies, the attentuation (the figure that basically shows how far away one is from the exchange, in simple terms) increases by about 2-4dB.

      The reason I said you could get about 6Mb is because I am on a 40dB attentuated line on ADSL1 and I sync at about 7000Kbps which gives me a download speed of about 5.8 - 6Mb.

    6. #25
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Thanks fot this info. I am going to give them a call and see if they will try me on ADSL1 just to see what happens. I will report back how this goes.

    7. #26
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: DLM Started 2 weeks ago so may still be going! Speed question??

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      ADSL uses a smaller bandwidth than ADSL2+ so will experience less interference issues with a long line.
      Scubbie, perhaps you should make this a bit clearer. There isn't less interference on ADSL1 because the speeds are slower, it's because the frequencies are lower and less likely to be interfered with. As a result of that, the speeds are lower.

    8. #27
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Gave Sky a call. Apparrently they dont move to ADSL1 anymore. They say it doesn't support fiber but I thought fiber had nothing to with ADSL1 as it uses VDSL does it not. They said DLM is still running but I have a feeling that it will put the speed down again and I will have to go with the fiber. I reckon that the 6MB speed would have been sufficient for what we need.

      Mind you they did say my line is showing X amount of errors and that if the speed is still not that great when DLM finishes then they said they can send an engineer out perhaps

    9. #28
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      The only way around it is to get your router or another router to connect to ADSL1. A lot of routers on the market can do this, but I don't think any of the Sky routers can. I am sure another member of this forum will correct me however.

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      Quote Originally Posted by ryan1988 View Post
      Gave Sky a call. Apparrently they dont move to ADSL1 anymore. They say it doesn't support fiber but I thought fiber had nothing to with ADSL1 as it uses VDSL does it not. They said DLM is still running but I have a feeling that it will put the speed down again and I will have to go with the fiber. I reckon that the 6MB speed would have been sufficient for what we need.

      Mind you they did say my line is showing X amount of errors and that if the speed is still not that great when DLM finishes then they said they can send an engineer out perhaps
      Call again and hopefully you will get someone who knows what they are talking about.

      Recently more people were trained up to be able to configure lines manually. Many will not have the required knowledge. Don't allow anyone to restart DLM either.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      ryan1988's Avatar
      ryan1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: coleraine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any room for improvement???

      I have one on order as I read something about setting noise margins etc but not only that to try and get a better router. Can anyone tell me if I have done a good thing. I ordered the TP-Link TD-W8961N 300Mbps Wireless N router. Would I be able to force this to ADSL1 do you think? Also I have extracted my username and password from the 2504n and hopefully I will get it to work but may be worth a try?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION