Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32
    Like Tree1Likes

    Prehistoric speeds!

    This is a discussion on Prehistoric speeds! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just moved in with my parents again after some time away and the internet speed is absolutely prehistoric. Never realised ...

    1. #1
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Prehistoric speeds!

      Just moved in with my parents again after some time away and the internet speed is absolutely prehistoric. Never realised how much I took for granted speed! Would kill for 2mb! Got some stats, read around on here a bit.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 767 kbps 468 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 35.4 db
      Noise Margin 19.1 db 11.5 db


      I've just had a look and it's an extension socket about ten feet from the master. Won't do any master socket testing tonight but will give it a go tomorrow if required- just seeking some kind advice

      Regards


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      Your downstream noise margin is very high, that could mean a fault with the internal wiring or the need to remove the ringer wire if it is still connected. Until recently sky's target noise margin was 7db, so at 19.1db you can see that the connection is definately compensating for something!
      You can also test if there is a fault with the line itself by picking up the phone and listening for any noise or crackling after pressing '1'.
      Connect the router direct to the test socket in the master with just the filter and the grey adsl cable supplied by Sky and then repost your results.

    4. #3
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      Hi.

      Went to test at master socket- no internet connection present there. Guess there are tons of wiring issues that I can't really resolve due to this not being my house and not wanting to pay out for openreach? ;/

    5. #4
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      Edit-

      seems as if the cable from the extension goes into some kind of splitter. Will take a pic. I'm out of my depth now haha

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      1. Unscrew the faceplate;
      2. Plug ONLY the filter and grey dsl cable going to the router. Ensure no extension or splitters, just simply the filter > grey dsl cable into the modem side of the filter > adsl port on the router;
      3. Post up your stats once you've done that.

    7. #6
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!



      I'll give it a go mate, although my worry is that the master is defunct?

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      Ok, never mind about the unscrewing. Is there some kind of junction box before the socket?

      I can't really tell, but is the set-up currently a splitter > filter > extension cable > router?7

      You'll need to connect up the filter as the first thing into the telephone socket then run the short grey dsl cable that Sky provided to the router. Leave the extension, splitter and any other equipment you have out of the mix.

    9. #8
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      I believe so.

      yep.

      Okay- cheers for quick replies.

    10. #9
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      Man I'm so ignorant about these things, used to be so simple when I just flat shared.

      Can someone actually explain what everything is in that picture? The old NTL master socket has no kind of internet connection running through it- what's the thing next to it? The extension socket runs from the one on the left with the things hanging out.

      Apologies for the dirtiness btw, it's been behind a chair for about 10 years!!

    11. #10
      slowasasnail's Avatar
      slowasasnail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Prehistoric speeds!

      I have deduced that it is some kind of dual connection for internet and Sky TV (after following the cable). I remember reading in the past that can be a problem for speed when your TV is joined up to it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION