Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Problem with DGN1000 Router

    This is a discussion on Problem with DGN1000 Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Last week I bought a Netgear DGN1000 ADSL router to replace my Sagecom 2504n Sky router. I need to ...

    1. #1
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with DGN1000 Router

      Hello,

      Last week I bought a Netgear DGN1000 ADSL router to replace my Sagecom 2504n Sky router. I need to do this because the 2504n does not allow you to change the routing table and I need this for my network (long story discussed in another thread).

      I setup the DGN1000 on Saturday and it connected perfectly for about 10 minutes but then it started dropping the connection every 5, 10, 20 mins or so. Everything else was working fine.

      I set the MTU from it's default 1458 to 1400 then 1500 (which the Sky has it set to) but this didn't affect the connection disconnects. I also tried spoofing the MAC address thinking MER was involved however this also did not affect it. I've checked the connection on my Sky router and it says PPPoA and I checked I had all the other connection settings the same.

      In the end I've had to swap back to the 2504n as I could not get a consistent connection from the Netgear.

      Any other ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      You will have read this thread DGN1000 disconnects every 5/10 minutes and as you are not the only one having this problem, it suggests there may be some compatibility issue with that particular router. I have no idea what it could be but it is possible the Sky equipment just does not like its chipset.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      If it is compatibility, then that's fine, the router only cost me 15. However I have read people saying they have a working one so I'm not sure.

      If I have to buy another router then fine, any suggestions? Don't want to spend a lot.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      I have not looked into it, but it is possible this router will be OK on the Easynet exchange equipment and not on the SVBN gear, or vice versa. As you say, some seem to connect with little problem but there are a lot who can't.

      Have a look at this thread for an idea what to look for, for compatibility. I think the DGN1000 has an Infineon chipset which does not match either the DSLAMs or ISAMs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      I believe I'm on an EasyNet exchange and if memory serves me the router has a broadcom chipset.

      Which thread?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      Thanks, I'll take a look.

    9. #8
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      Netgear DGN2000's work OK & they're cheap on ebay.

    10. #9
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      Thanks, I assume you can setup static routes on them?

    11. #10
      Puntoboy's Avatar
      Puntoboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with DGN1000 Router

      Well the DGN2000 arrived last week and it's been connected successfully for 106 hours

      However I now have a new issue. I've configured Port Forwarding exactly as I did before but it's just not working. The firewall log shows the connection and shows the rule that allowed it, but the webpage I'm trying to access doesn't work.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION