Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    netgear Router reSync

    This is a discussion on netgear Router reSync within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Morning folks for the last 4-5 days ive noticed that my netgear router as been re-syncing in the early hours ...

    1. #1
      thecarer1's Avatar
      thecarer1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      netgear Router reSync

      Morning folks

      for the last 4-5 days ive noticed that my netgear router as been re-syncing in the early hours of the morning and i was wondering if anyone could tell me why this is happening

      now i know my speed doesnt drop dramatically but i normally enjoy a 2mb line and the noise margin is a steady 7db but this morning i had a look at my router stats it said my noise margin as raised to 9db

      i know it doesnt sound much of a difference but should i keep my eye on this


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      DLM could have been turned on again for you line if something has changed! Just wait it out and see what happens

    4. #3
      thecarer1's Avatar
      thecarer1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      thanks for that Adam but i know for a fact that DLM is not running at the moment on my line

      just looked again at my stats and the noise margin is down to 8db now..... i just find it strange at this moment that for the last few months the noise margin as been as low as 4db and as high as 9db

      just wondering what causes this to happen

    5. #4
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      Quote Originally Posted by thecarer1 View Post
      thanks for that Adam but i know for a fact that DLM is not running at the moment on my line

      just looked again at my stats and the noise margin is down to 8db now..... i just find it strange at this moment that for the last few months the noise margin as been as low as 4db and as high as 9db

      just wondering what causes this to happen
      Noise on the line causes the SNR to drop.
      Street lights etc can cause electro magenetic inteference down the line and causes SNR to drop, when there is less noise on the line the signal will be stronger so the SNR will rise, ADSL2+ picks noise a lot more than G.DMT (ADSL) because of the frequencys.

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      How are you certain that DLM isn't running? Some customers are seeing DLM re-run as the process has been 'tweaked' recently.

      Noise will typically differ on the line throughout the day, it's normal for a little fluctuation.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      Re-syncing in the early hours is usually a good sign that DLM is running. What is reported in your broadband account is often several days behind the real world.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      thecarer1's Avatar
      thecarer1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      im sure that this router of mine as got a life of its own

      according to the router stats this morning i had a downstream line of 1900kps and the upstream of 413kps... the line attenuation was 60db downstream and 40db upstream... the noise margin was 9db downstream and the upstream was 15db

      now i decided to switch my router off a couple of mins ago and switched it back on and here are the new stats
      System Up Time: 00:16:52
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 549 626 0 54 619 00:15:56
      LAN 100M/Full 699 0 0 175 0 00:16:47
      WLAN 11M/54M 1438 1892 0 872 305 00:16:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2030 kbps 413 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 23 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 15 db


      now i know that im complete novice at this kind of stuff but how the hell can the upstream attenuation on my line drop 17db in the matter of a couple of seconds... by the way the last time DLM was run on my line was 10th of last month so i cant see that is the reason on why my router is re-syncing for the last few days

    9. #8
      thecarer1's Avatar
      thecarer1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      hi guys

      yet again my router as re-synced in the early hours of this morning.... this is what its saying in my security log

      have they put me on DLM or is there something else going on
      Sun, 2002-09-08 12:00:51 - Initialize LCP.
      Sun, 2002-09-08 12:00:51 - LCP is allowed to come up.
      Sun, 2002-09-08 12:00:56 - CHAP authentication success
      Sun, 2002-09-08 12:01:06 - Send out NTP request to ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Wed, 2012-03-28 12:31:34 - Receive NTP Reply from ntp1.isp.sky.com
      Wed, 2012-03-28 12:39:05 - Administrator login failure - IP:192.168.0.2
      Wed, 2012-03-28 12:39:12 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.2
      Wed, 2012-03-28 12:30:28 - Router start up
      Wed, 2012-03-28 13:03:51 - Administrator login failure - IP:192.168.0.2
      Wed, 2012-03-28 13:03:58 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.2
      Wed, 2012-03-28 16:22:50 - Administrator login failure - IP:192.168.0.3
      Wed, 2012-03-28 16:23:21 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.3
      Wed, 2012-03-28 18:50:27 - Loss of synchronization :1
      Thu, 2012-03-29 05:10:09 - Loss of synchronization :2
      Thu, 2012-03-29 05:30:31 - Administrator login failure - IP:192.168.0.3
      Thu, 2012-03-29 05:30:42 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.3
      Thu, 2012-03-29 05:52:55 - Administrator login failure - IP:192.168.0.3
      Thu, 2012-03-29 05:53:03 - Administrator login successful - IP:192.168.0.3

    10. #9
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      Any change in your connection stats?

    11. #10
      thecarer1's Avatar
      thecarer1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: longton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: netgear Router reSync

      hardly anything at all as changed in my stats.... speed as gone down about between 50-80kps but nothing to major

      just want to know why its been re-syncing these last few days even though sky arent supposed to be running DLM on my line

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION