Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41
    Like Tree1Likes

    sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

    This is a discussion on sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, My NETGEAR DG834GT is no longer assigning IP addresses from the address reservation table ever since SKY automatically ...

    1. #1
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky broken firmware original V1 router address reservation

      Hi there,

      My NETGEAR DG834GT is no longer assigning IP addresses from the address reservation table ever since SKY automatically upgraded the firmware to V1.04.13

      Reading around the internet its an obvious bug on sky's part and it cannot be fixed unless they bring a new firmware out, what am i ment to do?

      its also mentioned here

      Sky upgrading DG384GT firmware to support MER
      Last edited by elim; 01-04-12 at 09:29 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,910
      Thanks
      771
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Contact Sky and complain.

      Some members have been supplied a replacement router. Remember that only the Sagem 2504N will provide a better WiFi connect than the DG834GT. All the other Sky routers are either WiFi g or WiFi n Lite (72mbps - Sagem 2304n).

      An alternative option would be to pass everything through to a Cable router and allow that to manage your home network instead, keeping the DG834GT to be used effectively as a Modem.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      thanks seems sky arnt aware of this when i rang them

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,910
      Thanks
      771
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Many of the first level of Sky's support know very little. Even when they do, they have to follow a crib sheet and follow it.

      You would need to be passed to someone in CST who has the correct knowledge of the firmware update and any associated issues in order to get any sensible remarks about it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      One member has already been told that 'Sky don't support this function', as it does what they 'support', connects to the internet, they are not interested. A ridiculous situation.

      I would suggest flashing it to the original firmware, but it would probably update again soon after you went on line. The alternate would be to use DGTeam firmware, which supports WPA2 and a lot more. Sky couldn't touch it then. I have taken mine offline for the time being, till I get time to flash it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      seems im apparently the first one to "flag this issue" they will come to a decision tomorrow as to what will happen. not expecting much..

      i encourage all users in my position to ring up sky and get this issue raised.

    8. #7
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Put DGTeam Firmware onit, good firmware that had it on my DG934

    9. #8
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Quote Originally Posted by boothy_08 View Post
      Put DGTeam Firmware onit, good firmware that had it on my DG934
      i would but what's this thing with MER, can we use non sky routers with PPOA?

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,910
      Thanks
      771
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Many people can use PPPoA on their connections. If you want to check things will work first, I would highly recommend that you borrow someone's non-Sky router and check things first.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      elim (29-03-12)

    12. #10
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      tried ringing and emailing wernt having none of it. very dissapointed considering wev'e been with sky broadband since launch, the least they could do is send a new router out
      and its clear this bug wont be fixed talking to the customer sales team.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION