Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41
    Like Tree1Likes

    sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

    This is a discussion on sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I understand that the older firmware does not support WPA2 and it doesn't support Sky's implementation of MER . The ...

    1. #31
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      I understand that the older firmware does not support WPA2 and it doesn't support Sky's implementation of MER. The new firmware does fix both of these.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      But in return it breaks the DHCP table which is a massive pain in the behind tbh.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I understand that the older firmware does not support WPA2 and it doesn't support Sky's implementation of MER. The new firmware does fix both of these.

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      I was not defending the damage which has been caused by the update, merely pointing out what benefits the update was meant to bring, rather than just suggest "the update is to fix a security issue with the wifi".

      Sky would like more moved across to MER but I guess that there are many who are using their own routers which is making it a little difficult.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Quote Originally Posted by espio View Post
      How would that work if you don't mind me asking? Would I need to use a custom firmware on the router?
      No it works on unmodified Sky firmware.

      I've been using a little hack for a few years on mine to make it auto enable telnet whenever it is rebooted. I've just modified it to run a script instead, which will be stored in the router's non-volitile ram.

      And I've created a simple script to make the firmware update job lie about the firmware version

    6. #35
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      For what it is worth, I've found a way of stopping the firmware update that also survives a reboot, and all without creating a firmware mod.

      It should even be possible to still allow any future updates, just in case Sky pay Netgear to fix it!

      I've now got to add it to my router plugin.
      Ok, I've added an option to run a user defined script when the sky dg834gt attempts to establish a PPP connection.

      You'll need to run my plug in (link at bottom), Select upload dgstats, open the router UI in your browser, or reload it if you've already got the page open, and select the "Extra" option on the router's side menu, and paste your script into the "Script to run before connect" and click enable.

      You can use this to either kill the firmware update task (provisioning_ap) or change the firmware version number.

      The following script/command will stop the update task running (I'd recommend using this option if your router hasn't already been upgraded to the broken firmware, as it is possible that sky's update server might try to downgrade routers that have prematurely upgraded):-

      Code:
      killall provisioning_ap
      If you prefer to modify the version number of the firmware use the following line (this only changes the version number if the last version is installed (it will show up as V1.04.13 in the router's UI as well) this will allow the router to update itself if a new (hopefully fixed) version is ever released:-

      Code:
      cd /etc;if [ "$(cat version)" = "A1.03.87" ] ;then echo "A1.04.13">version;fi
      isitme has provided a link to download the 1.03.87 firmware in a previous post. EDIT: If you need to flash your router, then I'd recommend rebooting it before flashing.




      The script + hack will survive a reboot, you can remove it using my program, or by a factory reset, or via telnet.

      The script won't get to run if the router's phone line is not plugged in, so if you ever do something in your script that stops you accessing the router UI, reboot the router with the phone line unplugged and you'll be able to log in to the router back-up your settings and factory reset it.


      I'm using the following script which also enables telnet

      Code:
      cd /etc;if [ "$(cat version)" = "A1.03.87" ] ;then echo "A1.04.13">version;fi;if [ ! -f 1st ] ;then touch 1st; else exit;fi;utelnetd -d -l /bin/sh
      Last edited by fuzzy logic; 29-06-12 at 05:18 PM.

    7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fuzzy logic For This Useful Post:

      Isitme (29-06-12),itype (29-06-12),Max_UK (23-07-12)

    8. #36
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Will try this as soon as possible mate, cheers.

    9. #37
      EzyRyder86's Avatar
      EzyRyder86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      HI guys, sorry to hijack the thread, I've had a similar problem with 1.04.13 and sent them an email complaining. Today I get one back saying a new routers on the way, so it does work! Their still charging me postage of 2 quid but I can live with that!

    10. #38
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Who did you email? My email simply resulted in them telling me to get a new router off them for 35!

    11. #39
      EzyRyder86's Avatar
      EzyRyder86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      I sent it to their complaints department instead of broadband support. I basically told them that A) the firmware update is broken and I know it, they know it, and everybody in this thread knows it, and B) I refuse to pay out of pocket for their screw up. I got the email back next day saying there's a new router on its way. I used to work for a notorious competitor who told us never to replace gear unless it came from Complaints, that way they can write it off. To be honest I did it all the time lol

    12. #40
      ginganinga's Avatar
      ginganinga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Quote Originally Posted by EzyRyder86 View Post
      I sent it to their complaints department instead of broadband support. I basically told them that A) the firmware update is broken and I know it, they know it, and everybody in this thread knows it, and B) I refuse to pay out of pocket for their screw up. I got the email back next day saying there's a new router on its way. I used to work for a notorious competitor who told us never to replace gear unless it came from Complaints, that way they can write it off. To be honest I did it all the time lol
      Good tip - thanks EzyRyder

      Wish I'd thought of that - I had to pay and got the disclaimer about how Sky don't support DHCP

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION