Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 41
    Like Tree1Likes

    sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

    This is a discussion on sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just found this thread. My old DG834GT fouter also doesn't assign IP address as per requested via the LAN IP ...

    1. #21
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Just found this thread. My old DG834GT fouter also doesn't assign IP address as per requested via the LAN IP setup. The problem existed after the firmware got upgraded. I changed to the DG934G router I received a while back. This fixed it, I will however attempt the fixes for installing the 1.3 firmware and then seeing if another update fixes the router, at some point.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      I have downgraded my old V1 router to 1.03 as Isitme suggested. LAN IP addresses are working. I'm just waiting to see if SKY have pulled the update because of this issue.

    4. #23
      ginganinga's Avatar
      ginganinga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Will be interesting to see if/when your router updates itself - keep us posted :-)

      ...in the meantime I've got the latest Sky N Wireless router arriving - I assume it's the 2504N

    5. #24
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Just a thought but is there anybody that knows how to edit the image files? Might be worth looking into finding a way if you can edit the 1.03 code to block the update procedure. I have security turned off and use an access list and LAN IP in its place so I have no need for the additional security the update adds.

    6. #25
      ginganinga's Avatar
      ginganinga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Quote Originally Posted by espio View Post
      Just a thought but is there anybody that knows how to edit the image files?
      Yes - Scubbie gave the link for the editing tool further up in this thread

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Try this thread first: Firmware image editing tool for the DG834GT / Sagem F@ST / Broadcom-based routers

      I can't test it personally but mrmt32 is very good and will help if required.

    7. #26
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      For what it is worth, I've found a way of stopping the firmware update that also survives a reboot, and all without creating a firmware mod.

      It should even be possible to still allow any future updates, just in case Sky pay Netgear to fix it!

      I've now got to add it to my router plugin.

    8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fuzzy logic For This Useful Post:

      Isitme (25-06-12),itype (25-06-12)

    9. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Well done Fuzzy, I look forward to putting it on mine.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #28
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      How would that work if you don't mind me asking? Would I need to use a custom firmware on the router?

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      For what it is worth, I've found a way of stopping the firmware update that also survives a reboot, and all without creating a firmware mod.

      It should even be possible to still allow any future updates, just in case Sky pay Netgear to fix it!

      I've now got to add it to my router plugin.

    11. #29
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Just a quick update. Reset the router back to 1.03 at 10:30 yesterday. It is now 08:07 and no update has occured during the night. I will keep a further eye on the router.

    12. #30
      kinase's Avatar
      kinase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broken firmware original V1 router V1.04.13

      Hi, my parents have begun having this issue with their Netgear router and I've had to call Sky for them. They are getting a new router.

      The agent I spoke to said that Sky has stopped updating these routers during the night and will begin forcing them to update as soon as they attempt to sign in to their network later this week. The agent said that previously the update took place between 3-5am but to mop up those routers which the owners turn off at night this was going to be done at sign in.

      Apparently the update is to fix a security issue with the wifi but well it must have been poorly tested given the issues everyone is having.

      And for all those with a Sagemcom 2504N there is a firmware update coming to introduce what the agent said was being called 'Smart Wifi' which simply means they will all be preset to Auto scan in an attempt to avoid slow intermittent wireless connections due to congestion.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION