Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Location services and Sky Broadband Connect

    This is a discussion on Location services and Sky Broadband Connect within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all Hope that this is the right place for this post (as opposed to the Mac/Routers/Technical threads!) A bit ...

    1. #1
      FlySi's Avatar
      FlySi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01334
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Location services and Sky Broadband Connect

      Hi all

      Hope that this is the right place for this post (as opposed to the Mac/Routers/Technical threads!)

      A bit of background first...

      When we had Sky Broadband Connect installed we were supplied with a D-Link router. This worked well until late October last year at which point it wouldn't connect. Sky replaced the router twice but it still wouldn't connect (and if it did, it would lose its connection within a minute or two). This happened shortly after a firmware update. Eventually Sky recognised that there was a fault with the authentication and the software and they said that they were working on it and would let me know when it was fixed (they still haven't fixed it). Until it was fixed they said I could use my own router (a Netgear) and there would be no breach of the T&Cs (I have this in writing).

      Anyway, the said Netgear router finally gave up two weeks ago (after 8 or 9 years of use) and I've replaced it with a Netgear DGN2200. It works like a dream except for one thing: it doesn't appear to like any location services on my iPad/iPod Touch/MacBook, such as Weather, Google Maps, etc. nor does it use my location in things such as Twitter/Facebook. Does anybody have any ideas as to what this could be?

      The location services worked fine on the D-Link router but they stopped with the first Netgear and have never returned. I did change the DNS settings last week (from Automatic to OpenDNS) to enable me to download iOS 5.1 (somebody else has posted on this subject) but I've since changed them back to the defaults (which are obtained directly from Sky) Any advice would be appreciated.

      Thanks all


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Location services and Sky Broadband Connect

      If the OpenDNS servers were working OK, why did you change back to Sky's flakey ones?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      FlySi's Avatar
      FlySi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01334
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Location services and Sky Broadband Connect

      I changed it back to see if it had resolved the problem. Surely the more important question is why do the DNS settings on Sky's router work but not when used on another router?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Location services and Sky Broadband Connect

      It is not just on non Sky routers that the servers do not work very well, many find they give problems even when using a Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION