Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 3 of 3

    Master socket change

    This is a discussion on Master socket change within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I am shortly moving to Sky Unlimited BB I have been reading the posts concerning wireless connections and ethernet ...

    1. #1
      jimbo174's Avatar
      jimbo174 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CHRISTCHURCH, DORSET
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Christchurch
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master socket change

      As I am shortly moving to Sky Unlimited BB I have been reading the posts concerning wireless connections and ethernet cables with interest. Has anyone tried getting the master socket moved to a point nearer to the PC?. My master socket is in the hall and if it could be moved to my study it would solve a lot of problems. Presumably this would have to be done by the BTOR engineer. Is it easy to do and would it affect any other aspects of the tel' system like extensions etc? Has anyone had this done? Any info' would be helpful. Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Master socket change

      Since you appear to be moving from a Cable provider to Sky, this may be possible.

      The BTO Engineer would need to do this. The danger is he may not need to visit your home when you get connected to Sky as this isn't always a necessity.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      jimbo174 (19-03-12)

    5. #3
      Justinlang's Avatar
      Justinlang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Master socket change

      I have had this done; I just wanted to move the socket having been a Sky line rental & Talk cstomer for a number of years. Sky resisted until I explained the socket was damaged and thy eventually relented and asked BTO to come out and do the work.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Justinlang For This Useful Post:

      jimbo174 (19-03-12)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION