Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    RJ45 to RJ11

    This is a discussion on RJ45 to RJ11 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am working on a solution for the MER transfer that Sky is doing and I am almost there. Last ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      RJ45 to RJ11

      I am working on a solution for the MER transfer that Sky is doing and I am almost there.

      Last night I managed to get my Netgear DGN2200 working on the back of the Sagem router but the DGN2200 needs to know it has an Internet connection so I am trying to create the following:

      How to change the DHCP server subnet of a NETGEAR Router?

      with the modem representing Sky's "required" router.

      Now I really need a RJ45 end to connect to the SAGEM and the other end of the same cable to be RJ11 to connect to the Netgear DGN2200.

      There is no connection if I simply put the RJ11 in the RJ45 Sagem LAN1 socket.

      This is all so I can get VPN.

      Anyway, does anyone know the wiring diagram for this?

      Thanks.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      You connect the 2 routers using Ethernet - you don't go from the Sky router into the ADSL socket on the Netgear
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      This does not work as the Netgear needs the WAN IP address.

      Please see the link in the original post, it needs to be connected to the internet port.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      I don't think the link you give is referring to an ADSL router. If you look carefully at the illustrations 3, 4 and 5 you will see the type of router is a WGR614, which is a standard or cable router. What you are trying to do will not work with an ADSL router, which has a modem built in to it. As already stated you can only connect an ADSL router by ethernet, which is in fact bypassing the built in modem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      I can get the router to work with the RJ45 to RJ45 connection using the LAN links but the VPN inbuilt into the NEtgear does not work. I think it need the inbuilt modem to work.

      I therefore am screwed when MER comes along unless someone can work out how Sky make it authenticate.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      For the VPN to work, the router must connect directly to the Internet.

      Using the guide I compiled to connect the DGN2200 to the Sky router, the Sky router is connecting to the Internet.

      If you had a Cable router and connected it to the Sky router via the WAN Ethernet port, then placed it in the Sky router's DMZ, then the Cable router would treat that connection as an Internet connection, control your Home Network (providing everything connects via the Cable router) and the VPN should work just fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      yip, but it is not a cable router!

      Oh well, never mind.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      yip, but it is not a cable router!

      Oh well, never mind.
      We know that you don't have a cable router. Since you appear to be unable to connect via PPPoA now, it seemed a logical to show how you could get it working, but with a new router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      It has just started connecting by PPPOA as we speak. So maybe I have been spared a little longer. Do you know of any Cable modems simlar to the DGN2200 that has an idiot proof VPN integrated system?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    11. #10
      warrmr's Avatar
      warrmr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: RJ45 to RJ11

      There are quite a few VPN routers out there, I have an old FVS124g with dual WAN that I used when on cable that was a nice little unit. But that is now old and out dated so you may want to have a look at the Netgear business range of routers in the pro safe series.

      One thing I have found is most things that require inbound connections do not like double NAT, Perfect example of double a Double NAT issue. I have my sky modem as the primary modem with Wireless and DHCP off this then backs into a Cisco ASA5505 security appliance. Hanging off the back of that is my internal network including a Windows Home Server 2011(WHS).

      If you have both the ASA and Sky router in routed mode I could not get the web page of the WHS to display from an external connection. you could see in the event log of both appliances that the packets were hitting the rule and being passed but it would not reach the WHS.
      If I disabled routing and enabled the ASA as a transparent firewall in bridge mode then traffic will pass through it and it will still act as a hardware firewall.

      Outbound access is never a problem with double NAT but as above inbound connections can be temperamental.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION