Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    How do people manage to sign up to sky?

    This is a discussion on How do people manage to sign up to sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive tried today twice now, and im guessing there is a limit on call time (maybe around 3 minutes) and ...

    1. #1
      Drew's Avatar
      Drew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do people manage to sign up to sky?

      Ive tried today twice now, and im guessing there is a limit on call time (maybe around 3 minutes) and after that, you get cut off even if your talking.

      a 16 minute hold, then cut off while trying to register
      then a 9minute hold, and cut off again (while giving my name and address)

      How am i even suppose to register for the broadband?

      If i'm treated like this before i even sign up, what chance do i have when (maybe that should be if) i do sign up?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Drew

      Thats doesn't sound right there have been a lot of posts on here about people waiting for 60+ minutes before getting through and talking to someone what number are you calling ?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hmm true they are looking into allowing people to register online at some point but hasn't been confirmed when, are you using the freephone number if so unfortunately you'll have to be patient I'm afraid.

    5. #4
      Drew's Avatar
      Drew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      nope not a free phone number...

      08702 402 900
      8p per minute number

      do you have an alternative number where i wont be cut off during the registration?

      Thanks

    6. #5
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes it's as follows 0800 051 2595.

    7. #6
      Drew's Avatar
      Drew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks i will give it a try

    8. #7
      Drew's Avatar
      Drew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, finally got through thanks for the number.

      Turns out you need to be emailed a code even to sign up to the connect (i didnt know that, thought any sky customer could get the connect)

      Ive not received any code yet

      Asked the bloke how long a code usually takes. He said 5-6 weeks max.

      Subject: Sky Broadband coming soon
      Date: 09/08/2006 18:39:59 GMT Daylight Time
      this is my 1st email after registering, 8 weeks ago............

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes thats happened a few times there was a news story posted on here weeks ago that if people had registered longer than xx weeks ago then it would be a good idea to do it again.

      I think I must have registered once a week for a month just to be sure
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      Drew's Avatar
      Drew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well when i was on phone, he reregistered for me again.

      I will do it weekely then

      Thanks for your help

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      One more thing to try is registering through the Sky box as well I did that once from memory

      Good luck anyway
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION