Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Shonk

    Upstream potential?

    This is a discussion on Upstream potential? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I wondered could i get the 1.3mb upload with my stats? it appears to be stuck on 1.2mb. Upstream 1199638 ...

    1. #1
      jimconsole's Avatar
      jimconsole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upstream potential?

      I wondered could i get the 1.3mb upload with my stats? it appears to be stuck on 1.2mb.

      Upstream 1199638
      Downstream 12223963
      SNR Margin(Upstream) 8.5 dB
      SNR Margin(Downstream) 8.20 dB
      Line Attenuation(Upstream) 12.5 dB
      Line Attenuation(Downstream) 31.5 dB

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      No one has ever got the full 1.3 upstream. It seems to be impossible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      You have the third highest upstream i have ever seen on sky
      and considering you have a long line its doing well

      also if you are on easynet they are locked out at the dslam at 1216
      even if they set you to 1314 you will still sync in at 1216 max
      Last edited by Shonk; 10-03-12 at 03:39 PM.

    5. #4
      jimconsole's Avatar
      jimconsole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      Oh wow didn't know that about the dslam, i guess they can get away with it with their "upto" quote.

      Looks like it's this until sky roll out fibre then.

      Thanks

    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      I dug it up on an old ukonline thread
      someone called dan from ukonline said
      they where locked at 22meg Downstream 1216 Upstream at firmware level as the stingers get unstable higher

      And seems to confirm my sync
      I am on 1314 upstream at sky's end
      had a very helpful cst set me up
      and he couldnt understand why i kept syncing at 1216 even though it was set higher

      This is what i sync in at forced at my end to ensure 0 crc errors 24/7

      Upstream 1216000
      Downstream 19395628
      Elapsed Time 10 day 10 hr 55 min 14 sec
      SNR Margin(Upstream) 9.0 dB
      SNR Margin(Downstream) 12.40 dB
      Line Attenuation(Upstream) 5.5 dB
      Line Attenuation(Downstream) 18.5 dB

      This is what the dslam will allow

      Last edited by Shonk; 10-03-12 at 04:30 PM.

    7. #6
      jimconsole's Avatar
      jimconsole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      Very nice speeds there

    8. #7
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      Quote Originally Posted by jimconsole View Post
      Very nice speeds there
      How are you getting 20Mbps using G.DMT & it is a nice upload speed for ADSL
      my max was just over 1100kbps when i was on sky.




      There My Speeds :P
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1825316836.png

    9. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Upstream potential?

      G.DMT is adsl1
      G.DMT.bis is adsl2
      G.DMT.bisplus is adsl2+

      I hope you love your jitter + traffic shaping + deep packet inspection
      I was with ntl for 10 years and had cable broadband in 1999
      and it just went worse and worse from the day they first started traffic shaping
      the core network was creaking in 2009 and is even worse now

      My adsl is 10x my old 50meg connection

      My friend has 100meg from virgin and he always gets host ingame
      and its a lag fest
      its nothing to do with his setup as i did his whole home network

      I ran a longterm line stats analysis on his line and mine
      every 20 seconds an east coast american server pinged my ip and his
      for 14 days

      My lowest ping was 30ms+ lower than his
      My average ping was less than half of his
      And his jitter was through the roof unless it was 4-6am

      My average was something like 83ms and lowest 79 Highest 150
      His average was something like 190 and lowest 125 Highest 1200 odd

      I think my ip lost about 3 packets in the 14 days
      his lost thousands
      Last edited by Shonk; 12-03-12 at 01:53 AM.
      Scubbie likes this.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION