Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

    This is a discussion on Downgrade from Fiber-optic? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The long story short is this: The house we've moved into had fiber-optic prior, and the previous owner obviously hadn't ...

    1. #1
      thehostplayer's Avatar
      thehostplayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      The long story short is this:

      The house we've moved into had fiber-optic prior, and the previous owner obviously hadn't paid their BT bill for cancellation because we were getting debt collectors around, etc. etc.

      Anyway, we ordered a sky package including standard Broadband but the internet won't connect, and I'm asuming this is due to the fiber-optic things still being in place?

      It has the cover they fit to the wall line or whatever you call it and everything when you get infinity. I was there when my friends got installed, so I managed to identify it.

      So what do I do? Can I call sky and ask them to switch us back over at the cab? BT is being useless and unhelpful as you might imagine and won't do anything for us.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      The vDSL Faceplate used is compatible with both FTTC and ADSL connections.

      If the previous occupant failed to cancel, leaving a debt, or cancelled just before moving, then you will have to wait for the line to clear.

      Specifically what are Sky saying about the Internet connection?

      If you can get through to the correct people, there is a small chance that someone could get you signed up to SBUF, provided that you are interested.

      P.S. BT are useless

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      thehostplayer (09-03-12)

    5. #3
      thehostplayer's Avatar
      thehostplayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The vDSL Faceplate used is compatible with both FTTC and ADSL connections.

      If the previous occupant failed to cancel, leaving a debt, or cancelled just before moving, then you will have to wait for the line to clear.

      Specifically what are Sky saying about the Internet connection?

      If you can get through to the correct people, there is a small chance that someone could get you signed up to SBUF, provided that you are interested.

      P.S. BT are useless
      So I don't need to ask for someone to come out and switch it at the exchange or whatever?

      And yes, I know. BT are horrific! I will never use one of their products ever again, too many bad experiences. Let's not got here, eh?

      I don't know what's been said, I'm living temporarily at the property, and my sister set everything up. The concensus is to stick with Normal broadband for now, and upgrade if we feel the need.

      How long does the line normally take to clear?

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      Quote Originally Posted by thehostplayer View Post
      So I don't need to ask for someone to come out and switch it at the exchange or whatever?
      A BTO Engineer will very likely want to visit as he/she will need to disconnect the FTTC connection and ensure that you are able to receive a broadband connection in your home after the rewiring.

      The faceplate, provided that it was FTTC, not FTTP, will be fine to continue to use.

      Quote Originally Posted by thehostplayer View Post
      How long does the line normally take to clear?
      If the connection was up to date and cancelled, then I believe it is either 2 weeks or 4 weeks. Sky should be able to advise. However you have said that you have the telephone up and running, so I am kind of surprised that there is a little delay.

      BTW: For all the previous occupants mail, write 'RTS Moved Away' in large letters over the Address on the envelopes and stick them in a letter box. Never open any of the letters.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      thehostplayer's Avatar
      thehostplayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      A BTO Engineer will very likely want to visit as he/she will need to disconnect the FTTC connection and ensure that you are able to receive a broadband connection in your home after the rewiring.

      The faceplate, provided that it was FTTC, not FTTP, will be fine to continue to use.



      If the connection was up to date and cancelled, then I believe it is either 2 weeks or 4 weeks. Sky should be able to advise. However you have said that you have the telephone up and running, so I am kind of surprised that there is a little delay.

      BTW: For all the previous occupants mail, write 'RTS Moved Away' in large letters over the Address on the envelopes and stick them in a letter box. Never open any of the letters.
      Aye, done that for the mail.

      I don't think the phone is working, but my sister (from what I hear) said the internet light isn't showing up. I can't say for sure what she means, mind. Just speculating. I'll be back there on Sunday to check up!

      EDIT: I don't know if she's using a landline phone. I know she has Sky TV working fine though!

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      Sky TV can work without a telephone line plugged in the back.

      It would pay to actually ask her if she is able to use the land line.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downgrade from Fiber-optic?

      The wires from the copper cabinet to the fibre cabinet will have to be disconnected and the copper wires at the exchange end put into Sky's equipment. The voice line still uses the copper wires back to the exchange, so the phone may work OK. The broadband will not until the wires are put into the Sky ISAM.

      In the end, if BT are going to be awkward you may have to make an official complaint to the Ombudsman -
      How to complain COMMUNICATIONS

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION