Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    mid adsl2 max adsl2+

    This is a discussion on mid adsl2 max adsl2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I read somewhere that sky mid is adsl2 and sky max is adsl2+ is this true?...

    1. #1
      biglee's Avatar
      biglee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      mid adsl2 max adsl2+

      I read somewhere that sky mid is adsl2 and sky max is adsl2+ is this true?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep its true
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      biglee's Avatar
      biglee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I live far away from the exchange my Downstream Line Attenuation is 63 and my snr is 8, do you think i would get a speed increase if i went onto the max package?.

    5. #4
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Put info into this link http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php and it will give you some idea.

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I would really hate to think what you could get with such high figures but I am sure SkyBB will be able to tell you as they do teat the line or should I say they should.

      Good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      biglee's Avatar
      biglee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I get 2.1meg at the moment with no problems at all on the mid package, but if i can get extra speed on max for only an extra five pounds. i might aswell go onto max, do they need to change something in the exchange or can they upgrade me to max over the phone?.

    8. #7
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think you'll find they should be able to do it at their end as it's their equipment that controls the speed on which ever package you go for, but would be surprised if you could get that much faster.

    9. #8
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It is also my understanding that Mid is on ADSL2 rather than ADSL2+ but after being activated recently I'm not 100%.

      I came home on fiday to find that my Sky Internet had been activated and tehrefore, my connected router (a Linksys WAG54G) had lost its connection as it was configured to log into Nildram.

      Before switching over to the Sky router I opened the admin tool on the Linksys so that I could note DHCP and wireless settings. When I looked at the connection status (which shows a lot more than the Sky router does) it gave the line connection as ADSL2+ with a path=INTERLEAVED and fully sync'ed up.

      Now I am on a Mid package but the line was being reported as ADSL2+ >> this is why I'm no longer 100% sure.

      Cheers,


      Nigel

      P.S. I've just been hacking into my Sky router to get my Username and Password so that I can try another router (I can't discuss the ins and outs of this because its against the rules of this forum). The reason for saying this is when I look at the Modem Statistics from the Sky Router, it too reports to be on ADSL2+.
      Last edited by nheather; 08-10-06 at 09:02 PM.

    10. #9
      talisman's Avatar
      talisman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Mid and Max are adsl2+ and the base package is adsl2.

      Using adsl2+ on lines with a high attenuation is no guarantee of a faster line speed.

      Often lines will appear faster but will fall over and disconnect far quicker than the older and more stable adsl2

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION