Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Tier 3 - What You Should Know....

    This is a discussion on Tier 3 - What You Should Know.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've had lots of problems with Sky Broadband - these problems were solved today so I thought I'd share ...

    1. #1
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tier 3 - What You Should Know....

      Hi, I've had lots of problems with Sky Broadband - these problems were solved today so I thought I'd share some information I've learnt.

      1. The tier 3 technical support DOES exist!

      2. The people manning the lines within the department are very pleasant, very apologetic and knowledgeable.

      3. If you have been promised a call back by one of the other tiers, customer services or a team leader/operations manager - you WILL NOT get one!

      4. All callbacks have been cancelled one week ago as there was a list of over 2.5 thousand people waiting - it wasnt practical to be able to do this - therefore it was apparently briefed to all team leaders NOT to promise one.

      5. I suggest anyone with tier 3 issues should phone back at a quieter time and you will get through.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      as for my own problems...

      Turns out someone on customer services had reset my package settings to the default - therefore undoing the changes that were made to correct my original problem.

      After a few mins the tier 3 guy had me up and running, also he spent the time checking my line for errors and I now have a service running at about TWICE the speed as what I originally got when connected to Sky (with a faster upload as well).

      I could of had an even faster connection (over 10mb) but this would have created a small number of errors on the line which can lead to problems with your connection (and the need to reset the box) - the helpful technical dude recommended the slightly lower speed (over 8mb) for an error free connection.

      He took the time to check for future problems, explained what had been going wrong with the service and I finished the call a very happy chappy.

      I hope it continues lol

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Thats great news jaysun




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I agree that is very good news
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      When I got through to 'tier 3' I really wanted to say "wow! it really does exist" - but was afraid they might cut me off and I'd waited too long for that to happen lol

    7. #6
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      if only they would give tier2 access to the line and easynet system they might get more people online quicker

    8. #7
      hurdy's Avatar
      hurdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not true about the callback - I got one yesterday at around lunchtime from Tier 3. Unfortunately I wasn't in so they left a message on the answermachine with a call back number.

      At last, the Holy Grail - I have a geographic direct phone number for Tier 3 - to ebay to flog to the highest bidder!!!

      Alas, the number was unrecognisable - ah, well I'd only been waiting four weeks...

    9. #8
      kkhalil76's Avatar
      kkhalil76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You say they've been told not to promise callbacks? Hah. I've been promised 4 over the last week, the last one being yesterday night (all from tier 1 supervisors who promised they're going to get in touch with tier 3 and have them get back to me). Never received a call.

    10. #9
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
      What are these tiers and how do you get them?

    11. #10
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tier 1 - Basic assitance, setup and faults eg.microfilter issues firewalls etc. tests can be done on the line to determin speed and port status etc.and the tone test.

      Tier 2 -escalated tickets for bt issues or browsing issues and tone test failure. not solved by tier1 and limited line tinkering abilites.

      Tier 3 - full exchange abilities and changing of all the settings to do with your line and speed for major issues and important ticket issues etc.

      Your escalated up depending on the outcome of set tests

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION