Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

    This is a discussion on DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think my DLM has finished, the sync is same as yesterday (15,300k / 7.1db (6.1db yesterday on same sync)) ...

    1. #1
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      I think my DLM has finished, the sync is same as yesterday (15,300k / 7.1db (6.1db yesterday on same sync)) and WAN uptime is way beyond 24 hours indicating it did not re-sync last night, so i THINK it might be finished.

      my friend who is also on SKY and has line capped at 13,200k / 7.1db has just used an app to tweak his SNR on his D-Link to 4.5db and low & behold it went up to 15,400k.!! I thought this would be impossible on a capped line...so instead of waiting for 10 days to go by before ringing SKY to ask for it to be un-capped Im tempted to try my Netgear GT and lower the SNR Margin

      what is the score here? will it still go up even on a capped line? if so, if I get in uncapped will it go further? (is the cap even restricting the SNR tweaking?)


      thanks
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      I am not 100% sure about 'capping' done by DLM but manually there is a range of speeds which it can be capped at so DLM may be the same. Generally1/2/3/4/7/8/9/10/16/18/20 Mb*. If you are syncing at 15Mb at the moment the cap is probably 16. It is usually better to give it 3 clear days of no movement before you assume that DLM has completed.


      *This information was passed to me by a Sky employee some time ago, I think it is still current. If it isn't, someone will surely say.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      after dlm left me sync'd at19995kbps, the cst lady that had been overseeing my migration kindly phoned to tell me what my sync was, that my max attainable was 21 mbps & that my profile had been set at 20 mbps.
      so yeah, i guess caps do exist, but significant improvements made to a line after it's been set should be reported to sky & they'll change it.

    5. #4
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      thanks Tom & Gymno - I heard the 3 day thing too (if WAN uptime is more than 72 hours then its finished)

      Anyway, I couldnt resist and had a bash, I copied the MAC address of the sagemcom into the Netgear GT, changed the paramaters from o2 to SKY and entered the generated login and it worked BUT when i lowered the SNR it stayed put!! - I seemed to get slightly better results on pingtest using the netgear BUT upload speed went down from 1100 to 950 , so ive plugged the sagemcom back in...

      s'funny how my friends SNR lowers and increases his speed when he has never called to get his line un-capped (it was at 13,700k over 27db) - but he used the supplied D-Link with some software that allows you to lower SNR, so maybe works differently over MER as opposed to PPPoA (tweaking SNR on capped connections)
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      That would show it's not actually hard capped but it's syncing at the best speed it can at a 7dB setting (which is what it's meant to do). Lowering the target SNR would, in this case, increase the speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      BUT when i lowered the SNR it stayed put!!
      Did you resync or reboot it after you made the changes?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      @ IWasNotTheEnemy - I see, I thought profiles were always capped ..?

      @ Isitime - yeah I re-sync the router and SNR stayed put @ 7.1db , download speed EXACTLY same, upload speed was lower and pings were tiny bit better

      thanks guys
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      It would be a hard cap if you lowered it to say 3SNR and it stayed at a set speed but if you lower it and it goes UP then it's just the SNR at 7 setting the speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      but if you lower it and it goes UP then it's just the SNR at 7 setting the speed
      mmm lost me there, he lowered SNR - it re-syncs and says 4.5db in his D-Link and sync rate went up by 2,000k - if what you say is right then his SNR should still be saying 7.1db?

      also, how does speed go up and SNR stay the same when you lower the SNR..? (which did not happen to him - his SNR reports 4.5db)
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DLM is finished, are there any SNR tweaker for SAGEMCOM..?

      Not if he's changed it to connect at a lower SNR then it will connect at a faster speed if the line is not hard capped. If he lowered it and the speed stayed the same then it would show the line is limited to a set speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION