Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

    This is a discussion on Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I have Sky unlimited broadband, and a Panasonic DB80 bluray player. All devices in my house run on wifi, ...

    1. #1
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      Hi

      I have Sky unlimited broadband, and a Panasonic DB80 bluray player.

      All devices in my house run on wifi, but the bluray player needs to be connected via ethernet.

      I have bought a Devolo networking device (plugs into the router & the bluray with ethernet and send the signal around the main cables of the house). I've tested this connection with my laptop & it works fine.

      The bluray manual suggests leaving all settings at defauls (IP Address auto-assignment, DNS !IP Auto-assignment, and Connection Speed Auto-config). I then run a Connection test, and it says 'Cannot obtain IP address'.

      If I turn off the 'Autos' I have to populate the following fields:
      IP address
      Subnet Mask
      Gateway address
      Primary DNS
      Secondary DNS

      I have copied these as they are written in my router settings (from http://192.168.0.1) and can't connect. I have tried altering the IP address final digit from 1 to 9 but still can't connect.

      Am I doing something wrong?

      In the bluray manual, it suggests 'Manually adding the MAC address to my router' - but I have no idea how to do this!

      Can anybody help?

      Thanks
      Pete


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      Quote Originally Posted by pete146 View Post
      If I turn off the 'Autos' I have to populate the following fields:
      IP address
      Subnet Mask
      Gateway address
      Primary DNS
      Secondary DNS

      I have copied these as they are written in my router settings (from http://192.168.0.1) and can't connect. I have tried altering the IP address final digit from 1 to 9 but still can't connect.
      Try setting it as follows:

      IP address - 192.168.0.240
      Subnet Mask - 255.255.255.0
      Gateway address - 192.168.0.1
      Primary DNS - 8.8.8.8
      Secondary DNS - 8.8.4.4

      Quote Originally Posted by pete146 View Post
      In the bluray manual, it suggests 'Manually adding the MAC address to my router' - but I have no idea how to do this!
      This would be required if you have enabled the Wireless Access List. If you have, just disable it on the router for the moment.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      Thank you so much! Worked 1st time

    5. #4
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      As for the Auto setting , it's necessary to do nothing with the player for maybe a minute after powering on while it does it's assigning. At least that's the case for my BD75.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      It does depend on the equipment as to how long it will take to connect to any router.

      Normally you should expect this to be a easy process, but occasionally things take a little longer. This delay that you experience could explain why the OP had an issue.

      The settings I provided are relatively generic for the Sky and should not conflict with anything else on the OP's LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help me connecting my Blu-ray player!

      In the bluray manual, it suggests 'Manually adding the MAC address to my router' - but I have no idea how to do this!
      If you are not connecting with wireless it will not appear on the Wireless Access list. What you can do is add it to the Reserved address list under the LAN IP setup. The actual MAC address will normally be filled in automatically.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION