Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Diabolical internet connection

    This is a discussion on Diabolical internet connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've recently moved house, and with that my Sky Broadband Unlimited service. I was advised I'm on the 12Mb/s plan, ...

    1. #1
      n1md4's Avatar
      n1md4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Diabolical internet connection

      I've recently moved house, and with that my Sky Broadband Unlimited service. I was advised I'm on the 12Mb/s plan, but that the new connection would take 10 days to settle while lines are tested; admittedly I'm at the back end of those 10 days, so who knows, something amazing might happen.

      During this period, I've experienced speeds of 1.2M, 600K, 400K, and the today (just now) 80K down !!! ... 220K up :-/ I was expecting something around 1-4M during line tests.

      I've been reading, so I'll preempt some questions.

      i) I've got filters connected to all phone sockets, and have tested connection on the master socket too; it makes no difference.

      ii) I've also tested both wired and wirelessly, again no difference.

      iii) Router statistics:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 382 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68.0 dB 37.9 dB
      Noise Margin 6.2 dB 16.0 dB

      iv) SamKnows - Broadband Availability Checker

      BT ADSL broadband availability

      You are connected to the ... telephone exchange.


      • ADSL is available in your area
      • Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services
      • Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL2+ services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line is very unlikely to be able to support ADSL, although a 256kbps service may be available.
      Standard ADSL RAG results


      • You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      • You cannot receive 1Mbps ADSL
      • You may be able to receive 512kbps ADSL
        (Engineer visit likely)
      • You may be able to receive 256kbps ADSL
        (Engineer visit likely)

      You are approximately 3.55km from the exchange. Note that this is the straight line distance - the actual cable length will be longer!



      If that's the case, how could I have been sold a 12M connection; I appreciate it's a theoretical maximum, but my speed is far from anything close to that! The figures above, would it make any difference if I were to move, say, to Be Unlimited for example, would the same limitations apply? How reliable is samknows.com?

      I'm in a situation here, and would appreciate some assistance, or advise to get a decent connection.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      With an Line Attenuation of 68.0 dB then you must be pretty far away from the exchange or your wiring is severely broken.

      Try the test socket and see if the stats improve?

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      n1md4's Avatar
      n1md4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      Previous results, with home network wired.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 382 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68.0 dB 37.9 dB
      Noise Margin 6.2 dB 16.0 dB

      Results from the master socket, and a wired network connection.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 67.0 dB 37.7 dB
      Noise Margin 8.6 dB 15.8 dB

      Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

      370Kbps down
      350Kbps up

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      To be absolutely brutal, that attenuation is awful, the most you could possibly ever get is (a guess) between 1 and 3 meg.

      However what you are getting is very very poor. Maybe others can suggest something to possibly help, but no way would you get 12 meg, if you did I would eat my hat.

      Don't matter what ISP you went to in all honesty, the fact of the matter is you are too far from the exchange, remember the exchange may only be 3.55 kms away, but your wiring could take 5 kms to actually get to you.

      The only way you would get a better, higher, speed (high megs) would be fibre or a cable alternative, if available.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      n1md4's Avatar
      n1md4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      ... the most you could possibly ever get is (a guess) between 1 and 3 meg.
      If only that were the case Thanks for your assistance all the same.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      Wait til your 10 days is up, then ring Sky, you should get at least 3 times what you are getting now, it may take a little bit of messing around, but hopefully you will get there.

      FYI - Sky Unlimited is an upto 20 meg product, but in reality, unless you live next door to the exchange, you would never get anything like that.

      My attenuation is 47 / 48 and I get betwen 7 - 8meg - It's the line length that makes all the difference.

      Good luck.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      was that like so?
      if not try again like so

      Diabolical internet connection-nte5testsocket.jpg

    9. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      was that like so?
      if not try again like so


    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

      Re: Diabolical internet connection

      Quote Originally Posted by n1md4 View Post
      I've recently moved house, and with that my Sky Broadband Unlimited service. I was advised I'm on the 12Mb/s plan, but that the new connection would take 10 days to settle while lines are tested; admittedly I'm at the back end of those 10 days, so who knows, something amazing might happen.

      During this period, I've experienced speeds of 1.2M, 600K, 400K, and the today (just now) 80K down !!! ... 220K up :-/ I was expecting something around 1-4M during line tests.

      I've been reading, so I'll preempt some questions.

      i) I've got filters connected to all phone sockets, and have tested connection on the master socket too; it makes no difference.

      ii) I've also tested both wired and wirelessly, again no difference.

      iii) Router statistics:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 382 kbps 415 kbps
      Line Attenuation 68.0 dB 37.9 dB
      Noise Margin 6.2 dB 16.0 dB

      iv) SamKnows - Broadband Availability Checker

      BT ADSL broadband availability

      You are connected to the ... telephone exchange.


      • ADSL is available in your area
      • Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services
      • Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL2+ services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line is very unlikely to be able to support ADSL, although a 256kbps service may be available.
      Standard ADSL RAG results


      • You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      • You cannot receive 1Mbps ADSL
      • You may be able to receive 512kbps ADSL
        (Engineer visit likely)
      • You may be able to receive 256kbps ADSL
        (Engineer visit likely)

      You are approximately 3.55km from the exchange. Note that this is the straight line distance - the actual cable length will be longer!



      If that's the case, how could I have been sold a 12M connection; I appreciate it's a theoretical maximum, but my speed is far from anything close to that! The figures above, would it make any difference if I were to move, say, to Be Unlimited for example, would the same limitations apply? How reliable is samknows.com?

      I'm in a situation here, and would appreciate some assistance, or advise to get a decent connection.

      Thanks.
      HI there,

      as Newsreader has already said you line is extremely long. using the adsl speed checker on here it estimates that you should be able to receive between 2 & 3 Mbps. When i was on ADSL my line attenuation was 63db and i was syncing at 2700-2850Mpbs and speed tests came in around 2500Mbps (2.5Mb) but this was on virgin media.

      i note that you attenuation dropped 1db when you used your master socket so this may be evidence that your master socket faceplate is adding a 1db. i would suggest waiting for DLM to finish first as if you keep disconnecting the line it will affect the DLM which you don't want.

      I would also invest in a ADSL filtered face plate, that way you will not need any micro filters on ANY of the sockets in your house as they will all be filtered at the master socket. They are relatively cheap <15. Also check that they orange ring wire is not connected most modern phones do not need this and will ring anyway. only remove this if you feel confident. if you take it out you will need a krone tool to put it back, don't use a screw driver as this can damage the little pins that hold it

      Sky User - How to remove the ring wire from your master socket

      Let us know how you get on and I'm sure others will give more info (or correct mine) later today when they are awake
      Last edited by andrewjr; 26-02-12 at 06:00 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION