Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    help for a first timer

    This is a discussion on help for a first timer within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guy's could some one help me please as i got 20mb unlimited sky broadband in the hopes of getting ...

    1. #1
      evilregmi's Avatar
      evilregmi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help for a first timer

      hi guy's could some one help me please as i got 20mb unlimited sky broadband in the hopes of getting at least 7mb/s but suddenly 2-3months ago my speed dropped now i get 3mb/s. could someone explain whats going on in simple terms as i dont understand all the acronyms.

      here's some info from my router:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 4008859 4839833 0 22837 33800 17:38:55
      LAN 3711514 3201970 0 33776 22046 17:39:40
      WLAN 1196720 869502 0 1983690 89313 00:13:54
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5db 23.5db
      Noise Margin 6.9db 9.3db
      i dont understand what it all means but before the downstream was around 7000kb/s and upstream about 600kb/s. plzzz someone help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: help for a first timer

      In laymans terms, you are getting less than half the speed that you could possibly get.

      Do the same as above but from the test socket if possible.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      evilregmi's Avatar
      evilregmi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help for a first timer

      sorry guys checked out my master socket as it turns out it doesn't have a test socket so what should i do to increase my speed.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: help for a first timer

      Do you have any extensions running from the master socket?

      Is the router plugged into the master socket or into an extension?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      evilregmi's Avatar
      evilregmi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help for a first timer

      yes my router is plugged into an extension as the master socket is placed on a weird spot.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: help for a first timer

      Quote Originally Posted by evilregmi View Post
      yes my router is plugged into an extension as the master socket is placed on a weird spot.
      How is the extension connected to the master socket?

      Is it plugged into the front, or is it hard wired into it?

      Do you get the same stats with the router plugged into the front socket of the master socket?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      evilregmi's Avatar
      evilregmi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help for a first timer

      no it has been wired into the master socket and yes i get the same stats from the master socket

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: help for a first timer

      You could try removing the ring wire, but only if you are confident then try testing the stats again?

      Sky User - How to remove the ring wire from your master socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      evilregmi's Avatar
      evilregmi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help for a first timer

      this is after i take my ring wire off
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 97752 82025 0 11991 10764 01:28:06
      LAN 37160 30628 0 6648 1428 01:28:52
      WLAN 49924 72475 0 5248 12195 01:17:41
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3070 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5db 23.5db
      Noise Margin 7.2db 8.6db

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: help for a first timer

      To me, if the test socket / master socket and the extension is giving more or less the same results, (which they are) then you have ruled out everything at your end.

      I would speak to Sky and ask if they can look at your connection.

      You should be getting far better speed then you are doing at the moment.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION