Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 1 Post By gymno
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    is DLM finished?

    This is a discussion on is DLM finished? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 12284 kbps 1098 kbps Line Attenuation 25.5 dB 14.5 dB Noise Margin 8.1 dB ...

    1. #1
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      is DLM finished?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12284 kbps 1098 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.5 dB 14.5 dB
      Noise Margin 8.1 dB 8.1 dB

      pings 36ms in cmd prompt

      is DLM finished on my line?
      is this speed a 'capped' profile?
      can I ring up to get in 'uncapped' after 10 day is up?




      Since yesterday Pingtest has been reporting a lot of jitter and my line quality is GRADE B

      I do hope that I can get a little bit more than that, thats pretty poor for my line. coming from 17,000k on 6.5db SNR with higher 26.5db LA with o2... Iam aware that SKY's hardware seems to sync a lot lower than o2's hardware as i have seen with many other users sync rates coming from o2 and other ISPs (and yes iam taking the 0.5db-1db SNR difference into account)

      I guess I will just have to wait until 10 days have passed then ring SKY

      I may try my Netgear later and see what that says
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails is DLM finished?-57651917.png  
      Last edited by snadge; 25-02-12 at 03:04 PM.
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: is DLM finished?

      i think the only way to tell without calling sky, is if your wan up time is over 72hrs

    4. #3
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: is DLM finished?

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      i think the only way to tell without calling sky, is if your wan up time is over 72hrs
      thank you for your reply gymno

      is this because the WAN reloads every 24 hours on DLM?
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: is DLM finished?

      is DLM finished on my line?
      Doesn't look like it.

      is this speed a 'capped' profile?
      As your noise margin is still above default, yes.

      can I ring up to get in 'uncapped' after 10 day is up?
      You might have to ring a few times to get someone to do it, but yes, it is possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: is DLM finished?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Doesn't look like it.



      As your noise margin is still above default, yes.



      You might have to ring a few times to get someone to do it, but yes, it is possible.

      thanks for your reply Tom, it obviously doesnt have much further too go at 8.1db... maybe another 1,000k or so once it settles at 7db - so looking at 13,200k or so on 7db, if I can get it up to 17,000k with my Netgear and lowering the SNR to 3-4db myself (once DLM is finished) then I will be happy enough with that (providing its stable)

      thanks again
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: is DLM finished?

      no probs snadge. thats how i understand it, between 2 & 3am.
      not sure why 72 hrs is the indicator though. i'm just posting something i learnt from scubbie
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: is DLM finished?

      maybe another 1,000k or so once it settles at 7db - so looking at 13,200k or so on 7db,
      You might be surprised at what DLM can do if you give it the time to run.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: is DLM finished?

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      no probs snadge. thats how i understand it, between 2 & 3am.
      not sure why 72 hrs is the indicator though. i'm just posting something i learnt from scubbie
      ...and I learnt it from others on this forum

      Basically DLM can take a break of a couple of days, then do a little more work.

      It also takes 3 days for the Sky database to be updated. When it is updated, you can see it in your 'My Sky' part of the Sky website. Since Sky's support teams see the same information and they are not allowed to adjust your line manually until the initial DLM training period has been completed, we have to wait the 3 days.
      gymno likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: is DLM finished?

      re: 'You might be surprised at what DLM can do if you give it the time to run.'

      at one point during dlm, i had this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 1117 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 dB 14.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.6 dB 9.6 dB

      i've ended up with this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19999*kbps 1164*kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5*dB 14.0*dB
      Noise Margin 6.5*dB 8.9*dB

      downstream noise varies between 6.3 & 7.2

      whole story here connect to unlimited migration
      Last edited by gymno; 25-02-12 at 11:02 PM. Reason: added link

    11. #10
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: is DLM finished?

      that's good to know scubbie, thank's.

      btw, i don't want to hijack but i went from dlms' 19995 to 19999 by luck.
      i was continually rebooting whenever i had 7.3 noise because my ip was aberdeen, however i had a serious case of 'sticky mer' (wish i could just buy some cream for it) & so still have a craving for deep fried mars bars.

      i've been advised it's probably just a location / detection issue, but may be routing ie: me>aberdeen>london.
      i don't have a pc (ps3 user) & so can't do a traceroute. should i be concerned enough to start a thread?
      i know it's very immature but i quite like all those 9's in a row & don't fancy a reboot as my highest noise this week has been 6.9.

      sorry for semi-hijack
      Last edited by gymno; 26-02-12 at 12:48 PM. Reason: misleading spelling

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION