Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

    This is a discussion on SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I just checked my Track Order Online just to make sure it says my Phone Line was activated on monday ...

    1. #1
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      I just checked my Track Order Online just to make sure it says my Phone Line was activated on monday (which it does) and I noticed that it says its sent out another broadband box yesterday???

      hehe

      theres loads of poor customers on their forum that are without for weeks and I get TWO...lol christ Iam really gratefull that my switch went over smoothly!!

      anyone else had this happen?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      This is why people say your BB goes live once the line does. Chances are the Sky system doesn't know you already have one
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      This is why people say your BB goes live once the line does.
      I know what your getting at.. but it was the same system that sent the first one out?? lol

      they always try to send them out first so that you HAVE the router before your broadband goes live in preparation so your not waiting around..?, they dont wait until its activated THEN send it out? - dont see others in same situation getting second routers sent out...seems like a glitch too me...

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      In the early days it was normal for the router not to be sent out for Connect customers until the BB was activated. It was more than annoying, as when you moved with a MAC your old supplier was cut off and you had to wait 5 days for the router to arrive before you got back on line. I know, it happened to me. Thankfully the procedure has changed now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      Quote Originally Posted by snadge View Post
      I know what your getting at.. but it was the same system that sent the first one out?? lol

      they always try to send them out first so that you HAVE the router before your broadband goes live in preparation so your not waiting around..?, they dont wait until its activated THEN send it out? - dont see others in same situation getting second routers sent out...seems like a glitch too me...
      Probably is, send it back if you don't want/need it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Probably is, send it back if you don't want/need it
      aye i will... i have 4 routers already

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SKY sending out ANOTHER router? already got 1? lol

      Sky used to send out freepost return labels with their routers. I don't know if they still do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION