Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30
    Like Tree1Likes

    Latency increase switching to SKY

    This is a discussion on Latency increase switching to SKY within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I just want to know how it works properly, so I can advise properly Sky Knowledge Advisors and other 'tech' ...

    1. #21
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      I just want to know how it works properly, so I can advise properly

      Sky Knowledge Advisors and other 'tech' minded folk are telling already worried new users the wrong info, so i sought too find out the truth of how it all works because what I'm being told SHOULD happen to me DOESNT. people worried about MACs being told they dont need one too move onto SVBN when its not true (only if your coming from a fully unbundled provider like Talk Talk would you not require a mac) - and also telling them once phone is live their old ISP will go offline...its all rubbish, specially when moving using MAC, when all the users are concerned about is internet going down for length of time.

      also, SKY need to change the sign up process so that it tells people to get a MAC before continuing because once the line request has been accepted by BT (next day) your ISP can not give out a mac code, but we all know why sky wont do that.. "hook,line & sinker" comes to mind hehe... they know the potential customers current ISP will attempt too match SKY's offer and tempt them not too switch...so its in SKY's interests too get people to sign up first, but the process is flawed!! look on their forums, loads of users saying "if i hadnt logged into track order i wouldnt have known I needed a mac code" and loads saying "ive just found out 7 days after signing up, via letter, that I need a mac code, my ISP can not give me one cos the line request has already gone through!" and SKY's solution is too cancel the order , wait 72 hours (so BT get the order cancellation), ISP gives MAC code..then re-sign up... i mean what a carry on, my sign up process said nothing more is required, if it is we will contact you and you have 15 days too supply the information, so just sit back & relax and let us do it all for you...something like that anyway

      so whats supposedly happening here now with me is that my SKY phone line isnt really activated, it is just a BT rented line directed through to sky talk? and my line will go full SKY later? well its been 3 days now and i still get BT Line Test on 17070 so how long should it take? (remembering this is probably costing SKY more money this way, so in their best interest to change it over asap)

      also, if SKY are moving phones first in this scenario then why did my letter say "if you entered mac code on day of order your broadband will go live first, if you did not enter the mac on day of order then your phone line will be activated first" - this means I had the opportunity to have my SVBN Broadband Unlimited to be activated before the Line was moved over to SKY, however I waited 6 days before entering the MAC code as o2 requested it, this delay caused them to be 1 day apart as the letter said broadband is usually 5-10 days (or was it 10-15) and phone is usually 3 weeks, if SKY were moving phone lines first then i would not have gotten that letter saying so?

      I cant wait to see if 17070 stops working or gives me 'Zoe' hehe - is that what 17070 does on your SVBN phone line tom?

      be great is a SKY rep and BTo rep could confirm all this instead of guess work.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      I cant wait to see if 17070 stops working or gives me 'Zoe' hehe - is that what 17070 does on your SVBN phone line tom?
      Yes, she (or should I say it) says 'Hi, I'm Zoe, I'm here to make sure your phone service is the very best ...etc.' in a very patronising American accent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      @snadge

      Everything I've mentioned was what I knew to be true after 3 YEARS working for Sky Broadband CST. As Tom has said, it was always the way that if moving to the SVBN you would have to wait for the line to go active BEFORE the Broadband order could be placed - meaning downtime between connections. This was why it was always advised to stick with BT as your line provider as to not lose your BB connection but still have SkyTalk as your phone option.

      I left CST over 2 years ago so it would appear the process has changed and now the line doesn't have to be moved first before the BB can be provided (as said above). There is nothing more to be asked or answered otherwise it will just become confusing

      Do you have a live BB connection with Sky? If you do - great! Stop worrying about it
      Scubbie likes this.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      i look forward to hearing it hehe

      I wonder why this procedure exists?
      where the SKY TALK is supplied over a BT line until SKY PHONE LINE is active..? because SURELY the engineer can move the BT line over to SKY LLU instead of activating SKY TALK over the BT line then having to come back later and move it over to SKY LLu....? seems a bit odd, creating two lots of work? - its like going to the shop for 2 items but only buying 1 knowing you will have to go back for the other.

      @ IWasNotTheEnemy
      - Iam not worrying about it lol - as i already said iam trying to find out how it works ...being armed with the correct advice for other people is always the best! so i can tell other users in same boat YES they need a mac code (if on a BT controlled line) YES they will still be online when theyre phone line goes live - it has nothing to do with MY personal circumstances, iam simply using them as a means to justify whats happening with SKY migrations

      so it would appear that they have indeed CHANGED the system which is what I suggested ages ago in my original thread about it, yet Sky Advisors still preach the same thing on their H&S Forums (this is why iam trying to find out whats what!)
      Last edited by snadge; 22-02-12 at 06:08 PM.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      so it would appear that they have indeed CHANGED the system which is what I suggested ages ago in my original thread about it, yet Sky Advisors still preach the same thing on their H&S Forums (this is why iam trying to find out whats what!)
      There is nothing unusual about that, the 'advisers' are often the last to hear of any changes. Sky don't like the left hand to know what the right hand is doing

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is nothing unusual about that, the 'advisers' are often the last to hear of any changes. Sky don't like the left hand to know what the right hand is doing
      I can imagine lol....
      ah well

    8. #27
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is nothing unusual about that, the 'advisers' are often the last to hear of any changes. Sky don't like the left hand to know what the right hand is doing
      The same with all big companies

    9. #28
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      do these Sky Knowledge Advisors (on their forums) work from home or in call center or what?

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      Quote Originally Posted by snadge View Post
      do these Sky Knowledge Advisors (on their forums) work from home or in call center or what?
      They connect to the Official sky forum during working hours as that is a part of their job.

      Some also use a specific account on this forum too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Latency increase switching to SKY

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      They connect to the Official sky forum during working hours as that is a part of their job.

      Some also use a specific account on this forum too.
      ahh right so must be like call center staff that get put onto 'forum' duty (if you like).
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION