Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Line attenuation major drop!! 2

    This is a discussion on Line attenuation major drop!! 2 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have had this problem before but last time i rebooted the router and it jumped back up. now, my ...

    1. #1
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

      Line attenuation major drop!! 2

      i have had this problem before but last time i rebooted the router and it jumped back up.

      now, my line att has dropped to 15.5 from 58 and regardless of how many times i reboot the router it stays @ 15.5. anyone got any ideas as to why it has dropped and stayed like this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I would much rather have an attenuation of 15.5 than on as high as 58 and I know that 1000's of others would as well
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      jonandmarkuk's Avatar
      jonandmarkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilkeston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Ilkeston
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Give me some of that. You should have seen a big change in your download speed
      My line is currently at 54.5db and was 55.5db when I first joined. I would love it if Sky can tweek the connection to lower this figure even more and get even more speed out of my line.

      I know that it's possible to get the next 16Mb as I helped my mum and dad get connected last night and they are so close to the Exchange and get 14Mb download speeds. I'm so jealous

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes I am lucky as well and get them speeds, I would hate to have your kind of attenuation.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi I had the same thing happen to me, went down to 15.5 from 32. But then after 3 or 4 days it went back upto 32 and another few days went by before it went back to 15.5, i think it's a bug with the router, has I read that vishal has the same thing happen to him.

    7. #6
      jonandmarkuk's Avatar
      jonandmarkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilkeston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Ilkeston
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Bute are you getting faster speeds or is the router just reporting wrong?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 08-10-06 at 05:06 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION