Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    confusing connection problems

    This is a discussion on confusing connection problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; new connection as of 3rd febuary i assume i'm still on the training mode i was connected at 5mb last ...

    1. #1
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      confusing connection problems

      new connection as of 3rd febuary i assume i'm still on the training mode

      i was connected at 5mb last weekend and told this should be my speed when a sky adviser spoke to me this went down to 3mb during the week

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 dB 27.5 dB
      Noise Margin 14.7 dB 16.0 dB

      all during the week the noise margin has been between 3.4 or as low as 1.4

      After going out early this morning i came back to find no connection either broadband or landline i phoned sky they said the line was ok. they asked me to check the filters which i did and the corded phone. when i swapped filters it worked and now i have the above stats. Funny thing is that last saturday i had to swap filters again due to a similar problem. I've requested replacement filters just in case they are the problem which should arrive in 3-5 days.

      so with my new stats as above should i be getting 5mb ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router:
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      134
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      Leave it on 24/7 and it should speed back up after a few days.
      See if you have a noisy line, pick up the handset and press a number to clear the dial tone, the less noise you hear the better, any noise will mess with your speeds.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,892
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      Various ISPs, including Sky, send out fairly cheap microfilters. The quality varies hugely and typical shelf life is around 2 years. A microfilter will also need to be installed on every telephone extension.

      If you have an NTE5 master socket you may wish to consider fitting a filtered faceplate. They tend to last a little longer and as they filter the ADSL signal at the master socket, they also isolate any internal sockets, reducing any interference with the ADSL signal.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Gadget.man (11-02-12)

    6. #4
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      ive tried to upload a picture of my phone socket as i am constantly being asked by sky if i have any other bt sockets i don't think is the only one. will i be able to unscrew this and use the test socket ?

      edit

      the noise margin has gone from 14.7 this morning to 3.4 this evening what could be the reason ?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails confusing connection problems-photo1-800x600-.jpg  

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,892
      Thanks
      770
      Thanked 2,140 Times in 2,017 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      That socket does not have a test socket.

      If you could remove the faceplate, you will see if there is a yellow capacitor, the size of a AAA battery, behind it. This would identify it as the Master Socket.

      If you could post a photo of what is behind the socket, it would be useful too.

      As you are unsure whether it is the only socket, it may be a good idea to trace the telephone cable coming in from the outside. As daft as it sounds, sometimes BT has installed Master Sockets in the loft before now, so please be prepared to see where it goes.

      P.S. What you have there is not an NTE5 socket.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Gadget.man (11-02-12)

    9. #6
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      sorry i made a mistake in my reply this is the only socket i have its a small apartment/flat and am sure no other connections are here. no loft etc i will have to get a screwdriver none available here to get the faceplate off i've done this for my parents but this looks different to my that one i did it to get better speeds and it did work so i understand what you mean. thanks

    10. #7
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router:
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      134
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Gadget.man View Post

      the noise margin has gone from 14.7 this morning to 3.4 this evening what could be the reason ?
      If it isn't external (a noisy line or bleed over) just about anything electrical near your phone lines and router. Cordless phones are often a problem or a TV even.

    11. #8
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: confusing connection problems

      nothing is on other than a tv the phone is corded. The db is again 6.5 while yesterday it was 14.7. I'll be getting a screwdriver from parents and will post the pictures of whats behind the bt socket later today or early next week. thanks for the advice everyone

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION