Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 44 of 44

    Sync speeds and ping during DLM

    This is a discussion on Sync speeds and ping during DLM within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I agree that speed test results are a good indication, but you do need to understand what is going on ...

    1. #41
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      I agree that speed test results are a good indication, but you do need to understand what is going on with them, and not everyone who posts on the different forums does.

      The following were all taken under identical circumstances, with the only computer using the Internet at the time being the one performing the tests:


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      gatecrasher3's Avatar
      gatecrasher3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Obviously different servers can cause different results. Time of day, weather, etc also plays a part.

    4. #43
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      Scubbie, you used google chrome dint ya>?
      Last edited by boothy_08; 18-02-12 at 10:05 PM. Reason: chrone? meant chrome

    5. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sync speeds and ping during DLM

      I normally use IE9. I am pretty sure I did then too.

      I had a friend send me this one earlier today:

      Sync speeds and ping during DLM-422894_10150813504374676_657296209_n.jpg

      Thankfully I know that they don't have BT broadband.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION