Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Sync Question

    This is a discussion on Sync Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That must be a miss reporting of your download. It is not possible for your line to download at a ...

    1. #21
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      That must be a miss reporting of your download. It is not possible for your line to download at a faster speed than it is synced at.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      just thinking about it. that second download pic i posted showed over 22.000 kbs download, thats not 20mb line it would be a 220mb line wouldnt it
      i have these sorts of speeds showing even when on aol

    4. #23
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      just downloaded i tunes again.
      i made sure i had deleted all traces of previous downloads first.
      it kicked in at 22.999 kbs and gave me 20mb of the file instantly
      here it is
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sync Question-untitled-3.jpg  

    5. #24
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      In that case it seems you are not getting an accurate view of your speeds. I am not sure why. Are these speeds only showing at the begining of the download, the initial speedburst, or do they occur consistently?

    6. #25
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      they show at the beginning and drop off.
      like i said that last one kicked in with 22mb of the file already downloaded at 22.999kbs
      i use firefox and have done since day 1. had these crazy speeds at beginning on aol.
      also pc has been formatted several times in the last 12 months.
      last night itunes was coming down at a very slow 54kbs ???????

    7. #26
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      speedbursts at the begining of a download are not uncommon, but they are not usually so large. It is due to download starting before the measuring of it I think.

    8. #27
      boab2791's Avatar
      boab2791 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lennoxtown (WSLEX)
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Milton Of Campsie
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well I just rebooted my router and it sync'd again at 1664 with 15db noise margin and still reporting the 63.5db attenuation figure, anyway to get the correct figure om this as well.

      I am tempted to place my old DG834G back on the line to see what happens.

      Is there anyway I can check the target SNR of the line, I wonder if Sky have set it to 15 or so, also how do you know if interleaving is on your account.

      Cheers

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION