Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    384kbps we pay for 20mb unlimited broadband!!

    This is a discussion on 384kbps we pay for 20mb unlimited broadband!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys new to the forum so as the title suggests our broadband speed is terrible was wondering if you ...

    1. #1
      stumilner2009's Avatar
      stumilner2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      384kbps we pay for 20mb unlimited broadband!!

      Hi guys new to the forum so as the title suggests our broadband speed is terrible was wondering if you any of you could identify the problem.

      Just to let u know the modem is plugged into the mains socket, all adsl filters are in place & I've ran a speed test using both a wired & wireless conection.

      connection speed
      downstream 384kbps
      upstream 253 kbps

      line attenuation
      downstream 32.5db
      upstream 18.5db

      noise margin
      downstream 15.5db
      upstream 17.5db

      Any help is really appreciated thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 384kbps we pay for 20mb unlimited broadband!!

      If all your filters are plugged into the phone socket first and everything plugged into the phone is going through a filter, call Sky and ask them to configure your line as DLM has left the speed very low. You may have to call a few times to get someone to take action.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      stumilner2009's Avatar
      stumilner2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 384kbps we pay for 20mb unlimited broadband!!

      I see will give them a call asap, just wanted to check if their was anything I could've gone before calling them. what is DLM?

    5. #4
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Might have problems until Friday. Their systems are being updated so they probably won't be able to access your broadband details to fix the problem.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    6. #5
      Markh2001's Avatar
      Markh2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation My broadband slow Please help

      These are my router settings my speed is usually less than 1 megabit. Can you seen anything out of the blue that is affecting my speed?

      System Up Time: 51:18:56
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 108112 137991 0 24209264 72201625 8:57:57
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 51:18:56
      WLAN Up 625205 489193 0 427883781 97136278 51:18:37
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 11.3 dB 16.0 dB

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: My broadband slow Please help

      Quote Originally Posted by Markh2001 View Post
      These are my router settings my speed is usually less than 1 megabit. Can you seen anything out of the blue that is affecting my speed?...
      Being dealt with here: Really slow speeds! Please help

      Please do not post the same question in multiple posts or hijack other threads, it only serves to upset the membership.

      Thank you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION