Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Slow download speed, less than 210KB/s

This is a discussion on Slow download speed, less than 210KB/s within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I have been using Sky for the last 4 or 5 months after my parents switched from Virgin ...

Guest_2150 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Slow download speed, less than 210KB/s

Hi guys,

I have been using Sky for the last 4 or 5 months after my parents switched from Virgin Media due to high telephone bills and I have been suffering with these terrible download speeds ever since the change. I enjoyed a steady 900KB/s-1.2MB/s download rate with Virgin but Sky seems to be a joke in comparison. I understand my parents paid twice as much for Virgin broadband but I'd expect to be getting at least half the speed as before, not a 5th (at best)!

I am not sure if something is being capped somewhere because I tried the speed test on this site and the download speed was at 1.2MB/s but yet I never seem to reach more than 210KB/s on a single download in all the time I have been using Sky Unlimited.

I am not directly plugged into the test socket, instead the router is plugged into a phone socket in my bedroom which is wired into the main telephone socket in the next room. I did, however, use the test socket at first with an extended cable until the phone socket was rewired and I remember the download speeds then never exceeded 220KB/s, so I have only lost 10KB/s after wiring into a second socket but that shouldn't be the problem of the slow download speeds, should it?

2. Advertisement
      User05 is offline Sky User Member