Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

    This is a discussion on No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why do Sky do this? Got up this morning and router has been reset losing all security settings, lanip data, ...

    1. #1
      GordonM's Avatar
      GordonM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Bipac8800AXL
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

      Why do Sky do this?

      Got up this morning and router has been reset losing all security settings, lanip data, filtering etc...

      Yup, I should have backed up my settings, but a warning it was going to happen is all I needed to make sure I was sorted.

      Pain in the ****


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

      I can't recall firmware version numbers for the Netgear DG934G, but could you post which version you have? I am wondering if perhaps you have an update overnight?

      Otherwise the router could be faulty.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      GordonM's Avatar
      GordonM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Bipac8800AXL
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

      V2.02.44

      which is unchanged so no idea now why the router reset losing all its settings...

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

      I would be inclined to keep an eye on things, but it is more likely that the router has developed a fault.

      Consider the following course of action:

      1. extract your Internet log in details from your router whilst it is working. Save these to a text file so that should your router fail, you can use your own router as a temporary or permanent solution
      2. contact Sky to see if you can get a replacement router (they may charge you 28, if they do why not consider the Sagem 2504N from Sky for 35?)
      3. if you don't want to get a replacement Sky router, consider getting you own router and using the details that you have extracted

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: No Warning - Sky reset router AGAIN!

      Quote Originally Posted by GordonM View Post
      V2.02.44

      which is unchanged so no idea now why the router reset losing all its settings...
      I'd suggest doing a factory reset on the router, then manually re-entering the settings, as there may be corrupted data in its nvram (I've had a similar problem with a netgear dg834g on a couple of occasions).

      If it loses its settings again after doing that, then it is faulty, and if Sky won't give you a free one, you can pick up sky routers for around a fiver on Ebay.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION