Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Domain Name Server problems?

    This is a discussion on Domain Name Server problems? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Anyone having periodic problems accessing sites using Firefox? I keep getting error messages in Firefox saying "server cannot be found". ...

    1. #1
      Marky-Mark's Avatar
      Marky-Mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Domain Name Server problems?

      Anyone having periodic problems accessing sites using Firefox? I keep getting error messages in Firefox saying "server cannot be found". Could this be a problem with Sky Broadband's Domain Name Servers?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I use firefox myself, I have had that a few times so reboot router and everything works fine and haven't had it again for over a week.

    4. #3
      Christopher's Avatar
      Christopher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sacriston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It might be a good idea to manually set the sky DNS addresses, not sure what they are, perhaps someone could post them below for you (and me)

      Goto control panel and switch to classic view if your in XP and havent already switched to classic view, choose "Network Connections"

      select the network adapter your using to connect to tjhe router, probably wirleess, but if not it will be ethernet, right click the connection and choose properties.

      In the list that appears select Internet Protocol TCP/IP and then press properties.

      check the box that says "use the following DNS settings" or something like that.

      enter the addresses here and click ok/apply, this might solve the problem for you, if someone can post the DNS addresses below...?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      87.86.189.16




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      87.86.189.16 and 195.40.1.38

    7. #6
      davidw's Avatar
      davidw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uxbridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I found this extract on digital spy.
      ------------
      So called the freephone number today and got through to a tech guy who knew what he was doing, told him about the constant dropouts and he went through changing the internet protocol DNS setting, changing it from auto detect to manual to these address's, prefered:212.135.1.36

      ------------------

      No idea if it helps or not !!

      EDIT: Removed alternate DNS at the request of Easynet - They dont want this one public
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 09-10-06 at 07:57 PM.

    8. #7
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I get that that every now and again (I'm using Sky's DNS's). It turns out that the SNR was dropping below 7db.

    9. #8
      davidw's Avatar
      davidw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uxbridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      EDIT: Removed alternate DNS at the request of Easynet - They dont want this one public
      Sounds like a good address to use then if they are giving it out to people with problems !!

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi David

      We had this DNS server ip in our sticky and it was asked to be removed, can't remember the reason but we agreed to remove it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION