Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40
    Like Tree5Likes

    connect to unlimited migration

    This is a discussion on connect to unlimited migration within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; in that case then, please allow me to correct you regarding your most recent error. your last post should have ...

    1. #31
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      in that case then, please allow me to correct you regarding your most recent error. your last post should have started IMEO.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      That's strange? I do meow sometimes...


      ...Especially when I get my claws out.
      gymno likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      speed attenuation noise down up

      19995 1168
      22.5 14.0
      7.1 9.4
      throughput is 16.7 & 825

      yum yum.

      so even with a noise margin of 7.2, speed can increase by atleast 2 meg.

    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      Very nice.

      It looks like you have a very good line there as that is about the maximum connection that you will get from Sky. It is also above average for your Line Attenuation.

      There are a handful who have broken the 20Mb barrier, but they are in the minority and have Line Attenuations below 15dB.

      My current stats:
      Connection Speed 19998 kbps 1164 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0 db 10.1 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 9.2 db

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      hi. i didn't want to start a new thread as my history is here & so may save time. i'm pretty sure my problems are down to my ps3 browser, but as they all started after migration & they affect this site i thought i'd see what people here think.
      1) i cannot use the speed tester now. it gets to about 62% in 1 second as normal, but then chugs to completion in 35 seconds. at the point it would then test upload i get a blank page. if i refresh & try again, in the box replacing the dials i get:
      error! your speed test code is incorrect. you need to get the html code again & update your website.

    7. #36
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      2) sometimes when i load skyuser, i get:
      server error in '/' application
      argument 'datevalue' cannot be converted to type 'date'

      there's a lot more of that if you need to know. pure gobbledeygook to me. i've been googling this & my other web woes for a few days now. i'm also in the official ps3 forums & had a moderator finally respond today, but offered no solutions (i have other problems which involve ps3 specific error codes which i wont bother the members of this forum with). like i say though- this all started since i was synced at 16 odd meg 4 days ago, after my migration.
      Last edited by gymno; 07-02-12 at 09:02 PM. Reason: grammar

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      2) sometimes when i load skyuser, i get:
      server error in '/' application
      argument 'datevalue' cannot be converted to type 'date'
      I often see the same error where the adverts should appear. This issue may well be resolved when the forum is moved across to the new server. Hopefully this will be later this month.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      phew. well atleast thats 1 thing i can cross off the list. scubbie to the rescue again!

    10. #39
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      re: skyuser speed tester.
      my response from official sony ps3 forum moderator:
      I think your PlayStation 3 is ok gymno, the memory constraints the browser is encountering will be due to the limitations of the browser. *There may have been changes made on the speed test link you are using* which exceed the capabilities of the browser. If you encounter any additional issues however let me know.
      Last edited by gymno; 07-02-12 at 08:52 PM. Reason: removed irrelevant information

    11. #40
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: connect to unlimited migration

      well apart from the skyuser speed test not working for me, all my web problems are now over. ps3's had a firmware update today & this drastically improved the browser.

      as dlm appears to have finished, here's my stats:

      Connection Speed Line Attenuation Noise Margin Downstream Upstream

      19995*kbps 1168*kbps
      22.5*dB 13.9*dB
      7.0*dB 9.3*dB
      Wan Up Time 84:05:49

      excellent. my pings to bbc are 24ms-25ms aswell. i couldn't have hoped for any better than that.
      thanks to everyone who posted.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION