Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Is DLM always this bad?

    This is a discussion on Is DLM always this bad? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So I got a Sky telephone line in last Wednesday. SVBN area so both services "active" same day. Broadband started ...

    1. #1
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Is DLM always this bad?

      So I got a Sky telephone line in last Wednesday.

      SVBN area so both services "active" same day.

      Broadband started on 4M/bit d/l and about 512k/bit upload, which is fine.
      Attenuation was 52db with noise margin of 10db on d/l and 32db attenuation on u/l.

      Everything seemed okay on the broadband. Anytime+ was usable too.

      Then (obviously) DLM kicked in on Saturday evening.

      I was getting 142k download on Saturday.

      Now getting 384k down and 256k up.
      Downstream attenuation has increased to 62db with a noise margin of 11.6db.
      Upstream attenuation is 31.5db with noise margin of 20.0db.

      So I understand that DLM happens and I have to tell people everyday that this causes fluctuation in their speeds for 10 days but that this helps Sky give them a better connection. Shouldn't I be seeing some better speeds by now?

      Further to this my phone hasn't worked properly since it was installed.
      No dial tone.
      Calls to us go straight to voicemail even with nothing connected.
      When we did get ONE call to connect it cut off without warning then was stuck going to voicemail again.
      Phone randomly ringing at all hours of day or night but no record of a call.

      So from the phone problems there seems to be a fault on the line. Openreach engineer booked for Friday.
      Do you think the phoneline problems will be causing the broadband to run so slowly?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      More than likely but posting your proper stats helps as it's easier to see them
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      More than likely but posting your proper stats helps as it's easier to see them
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 62.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 11.6 dB 20.0 dB

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      That shows a long line but you should be seeing more. Are they taken from the test socket with nothing else connected bar the router? If so, then wait for the voice issue to be sorted out as that could be the cause
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      It looks like DLM may not be running, you appear to be on G.DMT which I don't think is supported by DLM. You could call Sky and ask them to configure your line manually, but it may be better to concentrate on getting the voice line fixed first. There is a good chance when this is done your attenuation may decrease allowing you a better speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      So, Openreach came today. There was a fault on the drop cable so they replaced it.

      Now getting a much clearer phone line - no noise.
      BB much faster after a quick call to Sky.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4665 kbps 382 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 dB 32.6 dB
      Noise Margin 6.8 dB 15.0 dB

      DLM due to start soon. Like Isitme said the DLM hasn't run yet.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      It's probably already on, and going by that you're at your maximum anyway bar a bit more on the upstream
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      It looks like it has started as you are now on ADSL2+. Unfortunately with your noise margin you are unlikely to get any more

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It looks like it has started as you are now on ADSL2+. Unfortunately with your noise margin you are unlikely to get any more
      Was quoted EALS 4-9mb at point of sale but knew I'd be lucky to get over 4mb.
      I've only really got it for anytime+ anyway, main downloading etc is on the VM connection.

    11. #10
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Okay so 2 months on and my speed has settled at about 4.5Meg down but my upload is painfully slow.
      After DLM had run I was getting about 3Meg but I phoned tech support and they quickly had it set to 4.5 whilst I was on the phone.

      So if I phone technical support again will they be able to do anything with the upload without losing some downstream speed?

      Stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4672 kbps 382 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 dB 32.8 dB
      Noise Margin 8.9 dB 19.0 dB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION