Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Is DLM always this bad?

    This is a discussion on Is DLM always this bad? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes your downstream has nothing to do with your upstream you have loads of margin there for more...

    1. #11
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Yes your downstream has nothing to do with your upstream
      you have loads of margin there for more


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      You have room for improvement on both sides.

      I would suggest that you double check that you have a quiet line first then call to see if someone can manually increase both sides of your connection speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      I called bb tech today and the advisor said they could change the profile so I now have this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5408 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 14.0 dB

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      They have put you on G.DMT, which is surprising as they now seem reluctant to do that when asked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      I called bb tech today and the advisor said they could change the profile so I now have this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5408 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 14.0 dB
      hehe maybe I should call them too.. I have 6142kbps down and my attenuation is 42.5 and and I have 797 up!

      Like you I use it for anytime+ and I have fibre for main connection.

      One of the main things I respect about Sky is their transparency. And the fact they have a lower speed expectation which they will cancel your account on without penatly if you fall below it. It's in with your DLM info under my broadband.

    7. #16
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Sky
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,478
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 122 Times in 117 Posts

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      hehe maybe I should call them too.. I have 6142kbps down and my attenuation is 42.5 and and I have 797 up!

      Like you I use it for anytime+ and I have fibre for main connection.

      One of the main things I respect about Sky is their transparency. And the fact they have a lower speed expectation which they will cancel your account on without penatly if you fall below it. It's in with your DLM info under my broadband.
      Money problems recently mean I've only got the Sky connection for now.
      So the poor upload was affecting browsing when doing other things.

      The higher downstream speed may not be sustainable though as its dropped a bit already.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5280 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 8.4 dB 15.0 dB

    8. #17
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Is DLM always this bad?

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      Money problems recently mean I've only got the Sky connection for now.
      So the poor upload was affecting browsing when doing other things.

      The higher downstream speed may not be sustainable though as its dropped a bit already.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5280 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 dB 31.5 dB
      Noise Margin 8.4 dB 15.0 dB
      Well in the last 20 mins my Sky connection has dropped out 9 times. Not really bothered as it's a backup but it shows even their network can have problems. That said it could well be an engineer at the exchange working on someones line and knocking mine. i've seen that many times before

      Atleast you know it will (or should) re connect at that speed.

      Here's mine

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6142 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 dB 26.1 dB
      Noise Margin 6.7 dB 14.2 dB

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION