Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29
    Like Tree1Likes

    My stats?

    This is a discussion on My stats? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, could you please comment on my stats from the router? Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s ...

    1. #1
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      My stats?

      Hello, could you please comment on my stats from the router?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 212 178 0 635 1346 00:00:48
      LAN 10M/100M 1419 1021 0 5074 1523 00:01:50
      WLAN 11M/54M 1395 1204 0 3839 4172 00:01:40

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 1048 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21 db 4.5 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 7 db

      Can you see any issues in these?
      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      They are good.

      There is a small margin for improvement. I would guess that this could help you to get them up to around 18,000kbps. Give Sky a friendly call and see if someone can raise this for you.

      Keep an eye on the downstream connection too. Some forget this and mess it up. The downstream shouldn't be less than it is already, but may get up closer to my own (see stats below).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mattylad (15-01-12)

    5. #3
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      I currently have a Netgear DG834g running V4.01.40 - DGTeam Rev. 0849 (I have just got the latest firmware and may try that).

      Do you think I would be best using this or getting a new router (we have just signed up for another 12 month contract so am going to try and blag a new one from sky).

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      The choice is yours. If all your WiFi devices are maxed out on this router, then fine. If the router is maxed out with their traffic, then you may wish to consider getting a better router. It is also likely that with an elderly router you may no longer be getting the best connection speed.

      The choices are:

      • blag a free replacement or pay 28 for a WiFi g router (D-Link, Netgear DG934G, Sagem 2504) or perhaps get the Sagem 2304n
      • pay 35 for the Sagem 2504N
      • get your own new router

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      OK cheers, its only got a few wifi devices on, all 4 wired ports are in use though.
      1 to a pc, 2 to a switch for my laptop & xbox, 3 to a hub for 2 more pc's, cant remember what the third is on.

      Perhaps I also need to upgrade the switch & hub to 100mb ones instead of 10mb.
      The connection often hangs & needs resetting.

      If I go through sky's routine, check this, check that & say its been ongoing for over a year I'll try and blag a new router and see if that is any difference.

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      Good luck with the phone call.

      With regards to the Network Switches, a 10mb/s one may be giving you lots of problems. It is slower than your Internet connection and you may be getting 'collisions'.

      Personally I have upgraded my LAN to a 1Gbit network now.

      You can get a 5-Port 10/100mb Switch for around 5 at the moment. A 5-port 1Gbit Switch will set you back around 12.

      Whilst I appreciate that Sky routers are all currently 10/100mb on the LAN side, Network Switches tend to last many years so the suggestion that you consider this route is fair for investing in the future.

      Cat 5e or Cat 6 Ethernet cable will support a 1Gbit connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mattylad (15-01-12)

    10. #7
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      The one upstairs for the kids (21 & 18 - not kids really lol) is actually a hub.
      However I guess I will get off my bum and sort them out to use their own wiring down to the Netgear switch next to the router, that gets rid of one.
      I have just looked and the other switch is a 10/100.

      Hmm, so perhaps I ought not to have just made a bay bid on one so soon lol. (I hope I get outbid then).

    11. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      pmsl. Hopefully someone will out bid you then.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #9
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      I ahem... cancelled my bid, it was the wrong amount (well - did I really want to pay 3 for a netgear switch I dont need lol).

    13. #10
      BrianM's Avatar
      BrianM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Abingdon
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: My stats?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There is a small margin for improvement. I would guess that this could help you to get them up to around 18,000kbps. Give Sky a friendly call and see if someone can raise this for you.
      Is there a best number to call to ask for this? Navigating Sky's IVR system today got me to an option to report a "Broadband fault" - which wasn't quite what I wanted to do - I want to ask them to try an increase in speed!

      There is an email I saw somewhere "broadbandtechnicalsupport@bskyb.com" - whould that work?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION